We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“www.yogavarkala.com” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoga Varkala

Yoga Varkala
North End, Varkala Cliff | c/o Bohemian Masala boutique resort, Varkala 695141, India
+91 94467 03518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Varkala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily yoga with Vasudev in Bohemian Masala
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“www.yogavarkala.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Yoga with Vasudev at the Bohemian Masala was amazing! I started with the beginner level from thursday to monday 10am-12am.this course I can recommend to everybody who wants to get a first step into yoga and who wants to be prepared to continue with a intermediate level all over the world. Vasudev is a great and well experienced teacher.he brings together the physical, psychological and philosophical parts of yoga in a unique, relaxed way. He puts his heart and soul into yoga.The normal flow starts every day 8am. It is a classical hatha-yoga with many asanas and a wonderful final relaxation-Levels: intermediate and advanced ( 300 rs per class and some discount if you book more classes). I can also recommend his video which equates exactely to one of his lessons . (www.yogavarkala.com) the yoga-shala is probably the largest and most beatiful one of the cliff,located in the gorgeous Bohemian Masala Hotel, best place to stay, providing amazing food,(kerala-meals for lunch) friendly staff and a very professional Ayurveda...the significantly most enjoyable way to spend your holyday in Varkala

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great yoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 3 weeks doing yoga with Vasu, thoroughly enjoyed every day. The yogashala is great and the teaching was varied and appropriate to the class

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yoga with Dr. Kamaraj @ Namasthe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I tried a few diffferent classes in Varkala but Dr. Kamaraj's was by far the best. Being a yoga teacher of 8 years and health professional I definitely appreciated his experience, compassion and ability to teach a multi-level class - not something all yoga teachers can do.
His passion for what he does also emanates through his other channels of healing including massage - he gives an amazing thai yoga massage and knows the body very well! Thank you Namasthe Centre and Kamaraj for the wonderful kindness and excellent classes. I will be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yoga with Vasudev at Bohemian Masala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my 6th time taking classes with Vasu. So brilliant, that you really get to learn a yoga style you can keep adding too and working with once you are back in your living room.
The location is great in a lush garden, plenty of space. Seems to me that all levels of yoga practioners get a usefull experience out og Vasus classes. Even the advanced and very advanced practioners.
Every thursday morning at 10 - a beginners course starts. Open classes are at 8.00. Ask for meditation classes!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best start in the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The high season had not yet started, so the classes were anything but crowded, usually we were just 3 students and the instructor. I still went every morning, it's good Hatha Yoga, suitable for beginners as well as for advanced Yogis. One morning lesson cost 250.- Rs. which is the going rate on the cliff in Varkala.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoga Varkala also viewed

 

Been to Yoga Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoga Varkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.