We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation we had in 6 months of travelling all of India!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Varkala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison de Varkala
Helipad | Varkala, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 Varkala B&B and Inns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best accommodation we had in 6 months of travelling all of India!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The owner is amazing! Always around ready to help. The rooms were amazingly clean, the wifi always worked and speedy, the location is prime and i would recommend it to everyone (families, backpackers, solo travellers, people on business)


I can't stress how amazing our experience was at this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I came for a few days and ended up staying two weeks. Spotless, friendly budget place, I am sure by far the best value on the clifftop. Room was charming, Lovely and her sister arranged pre-Xmas Keralan dinner on banana leaves with their mother for a few lucky guests, which was unforgettable. There's a great ayurvedic treatment centre next door too. All this more than compensates for the lack of 'fancy' extras like sea views and hammocks, although there is a terrace with tables for sitting out. Lovely and her sister were so welcoming I felt in a home from home, and as a woman travelling alone felt safe and protected here. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A wonderful home-stay run by Lovely and her sister Chinnu. Who are both lovely !!! I arrived to big smiles and words of welcome as they walked out into the street to greet me. Always ready to help you, point you in the right direction, and even just to chat. I felt like i was staying good friends. My room was basic, but very clean and with a mosquito net, however ended up not needing it, as there were none in my room. La maison de Varkala is situated 2 minutes from the beach and the cliff front where all the shops and restaurants are located. Amazing location. The breakfast was my favorite - fresh fruit with sprinkled fresh coconut served in a beautiful wooden bowl in banana leaves -such a treat. Or there are ample places to choose from on the front serving excellent choices of breakfasts to choose from. Varkala specialises in breakfast !! Both sisters organised a wonderful trip to Golden Island as i asked about it. Shortly afterwards they had asked around, and got together 5 people to go, to split costs, and we all paid the small amount of 400 rupees each for the taxi there (30 mins), beautiful boat trip to the island in the most stunning scenery, walk on island to temple, and then boat trip back as the sun was setting and the sound of prayer in the distance....unforgettable. I felt reluctant to leave at the end of my stay there, and eager to return one day.

Room Tip: Shower water is cold. But if you wait until the end of the day, the water is warmer by the sun. Most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and a friend stayed in a really nice and clean double bed room for a week. Big bathroom with a vent and a clean toilet. The bed was quite big for Indian standards (Iam 6foot5 and could almost stretch). Rooms have nice close-able-shelfs and mosquito nets without any holes!!!
Big plus is the super friendly owner and the cheap prices. They have rooftop as well (for yoga or workouts) and you reach the beach, bars and restaurants in 2 minutes. Loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed in "La Maison de Varkala" for almost a week and I had a wonderful time - especially because Lovely and her sister Chinnu are just wonderful people. The hostel is super nice and clean - definitely one of the most cleanest and nicest I have seen during my 2 month trip through south India. It is really quiet at night though the hostel is placed in a perfect location on the cliff. Thank you again Lovely and Chinnu for the great time in Varkala.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandria, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have just come back from la maison de Varkala where I spent a real good and relaxing time. Lovely and her sister Chinnu are wonderful people, really kind and helpfull whether you need anything you just have to ask! The house is new and very clean and it seems like to be at home. The place is sourrended by lots of trees, it's very close to the sea and there are plenty of yoga's schools and ayurvedic massages. I fancy and planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in La Maison de Varkala for 2 weeks and I fully enjoyed my stay. The guesthouse changed its location a few months ago and is now located in a very quite area only 1 minute from Helipad. The rooms are very clean and some of them have a direct access to a terrace. If you are looking for a relaxed guesthouse on the North Cliff this might be the right place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison de Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Varkala

Address: Helipad | Varkala, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 20 second walk from the beach. Yoga and meditation space in roof top. Free break fast in Peak season time.One minute walk to the restuarents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison De Varkala Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Varkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Maison de Varkala to your Saves list