We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Tree Heritage to your Saves list
Palm Tree Heritage
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked this hotel from trip advisor recommendations. Stayed 10 nights March-April
Very attentive staff literally the moment you came out of your door there was someone asking if they could help.
Food exceptional and we ate there most evenings. Portions enormous - fish in banana leaf easily could be for two people.
Lovely to have beach to yourself once the fisherman had finished hauling in their catch.
100 rupees basically a £1 to town or main beach in auto rickshaw.
Had lovely trip to backwater for the day but would recommend overnight stay , for day trip it was £ 100 but included driver for day boat to yourself captain and chef.
Had car up to hill station but need to take picnic as not many facilities up there and go with decent footwear as you can hike around. Not really developed that area as much as Munnar I believe.
We had 5 consecutive days of ayurveda massage at the hotels own facility just a few minutes walk away. Really an experience and you have to leave your modesty at the door but excellent massage.
There are no TVs or pool so don't book here if that's important to you.
If you go earlier in the season the tide is further out so more beach.
But highly recommended if you want beautiful sunsets, , fabulous food, big clean comfortable rooms and 5*service from Babu and his excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    101
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
119
203
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is a really nice place to stay at if you like beaches. Rooms are spacious and clean. The noticeable thing is that all the staffs, managerial or non manegerial are always willing to service our needs and polite too. The room services are also very good. Infact they are very loyal to their "boss" Babu - who is the person in charge of the resort.

The food served at the restaurants are fresh and tasty. But the only concern is, go for the sea foods they offer only if you can really afford it !!! They are a bit expensive rather than what we expect from this sort of a restaurant. But the quality and taste are ofcourse up to the mark.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

When you arrive here you can feel the stress dissolving. The hotel has real character and charm and is located a short walk North of the cliff top resort so it actually is on the beach. We had breakfast overlooking the fisherman bringing in their catch and fresh fish for dinner at a candlelight table on the beach.
The staff are excellent and really make you feel welcome. If you want to get away from it all and relax this is the place to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed in March for 3 nights.
The room we had was lovely, the bathroom in particular was spacious, clean and even had a bath.
The bed in the main room was quite large and the a/c and fan worked well.
Although we had booked 2 deluxe rooms with each having a seaview, one of the rooms did not.
Both however had a nice porch area in front as well.
The location of the Hotel is very good and is right on the bach and you can watch the fishermen pulling the nets in in the morning. It is only about a 15 min walk to the shops that line the clifftops. I would definately recommend going in the sea, I have never experienced water as warm as we found here and the waves were great fun.
The food we ate was cooked to a v good standard, my only gripe would be that the choice of dishes was not as good as we experienced elsewhere on our holiday, breakfast in particular I did not enjoy. However being able to eat dinner on the beach listening to the waves rolling in was amazing. The service was very good and the staff were all v friendly.
The hotels wifi was a bit ropey if i am honest, probably not enough bandwidth to cope, a small tip, there was another unlocked network called DLink which you could get near the front of the hotel. We used this as well as the hotels network.
The hotel did experience quite a few electricity blackouts whilst we were there, more than we experienced elsewhere in Kerala, sometimes this was annoying as it took out the ac and fan.
Overall I would recommend this place, but I would look around at the other restaurants along the cliffs for a bit more of a choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a seaview as one of our rooms did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A very nice hotel! The rooms were big and very clean! The staff were absolutely fantastic! Everyone were superfriendly and seemed to really enjoy their job. The staff in the receptionist were very helpful, with everything from booking yoga to organizing tours. The restaurant staff were the friendliest i've ever met! They werent just great waiters/waitresses, they were also intrested in our over all well being. Plus the food was fantastic! I would love to go back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Palm Tree Heritage. This was the best service I have ever had at a hotel. The owners and staff played with our children. They even planned an impromptu birthday celebration for my son, who turned three while we were in Varkola. The owners were also very helpful when we reserved our rooms and the transport from the hotel. They helped us plan a few trips into the city, on a house boat and to an elephant festival when we requested help (however, they did not try to talk us into any expensive packages, which we appreciated).

Also, the food at the restaurant was the best we had in Varkola. The breakfast with half board included any item from the extensive menu. For dinner I suggest the fish wrapped in banana leaf if you have the opportunity. This dish was a bit more expensive than some of the other restaurants in Varkola, but well worth the extra cost.

Please note that the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the main Varkola beach. We enjoyed being away from the busy shops and restaurants (while still close enough to walk or take a rickshaw). However, if you want to be right on the main beach, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the honey moon villa , so beautifully located with a wonderful view of the sea you could sit at the porch for hours together looking at the sea. What makes this place very special is Babu and his team who attended to every need of ours and made sure we were comfortable. Hospitality at its best. They help you with everything from transport to medicines. The local fisher man are all very friendly and the beach where the resort is located is like a swimming pool and we had a blast.Food is good and the waiters are prompt with their service.Though the villa looks beautiful we felt the space could have been better utilized. Over all the place was fantastic and we want to visit again.

Room Tip: Take the honey moon villa situated at the right end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.