We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Tree Heritage to your Saves list
Palm Tree Heritage
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Very romAntic quiet place with sympatic staff. Clean rooms and very good kitchen. I want comd back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    123
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
134
239
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

After a long haul flight we arrived to a warm welcome from the owner Babu and his staff who helped carry our cases to the room. The room itself was very spacious, clean and we were impressed by the hand carved furniture. The view from our room was fabulous, overlooking the lovely garden area and the sea in the short distance. The beach was idyllic and a great way to spend the day relaxing away from the hustle & bustle of the main cliff area. We have great memories of having our breakfast whilst watching the local fishermen hard at work (in between arguing with each other!). There is a nice coastal path walk to the cliff area but you will need a torch when it goes dark. We've stayed at a few hotels in India (mainly in Goa) and the Palm Tree Heritage is our favourite and much more of a higher standard than other places we have stayed. The location is fantastic if you prefer somewhere quieter but not too far away from the main tourist area. We absolutely loved our 2 week holiday here and Babu organised a couple of day trips for us, he was very knowledgeable and made our stay a very pleasant one. Hopefully we'll make it back there one day : -)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is my second trip to varkala and happens to be more memorable than the previous one for the single reason n thats the resort. Its a home away from home. A mini paradise i must say for all the people here are so friendly. A highly recommended place for couples. The rooms are awesome and very well maintained. The private beach adds to the beauty of the destination. There could be nothin better than sipping coffee in the evening with the waves washing your feet. A total get away from the hectic busy life... Cheers to this place !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and unique.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

It is really a fantastic option in Varkala - we liked it much more vs busy cliff places. We were looking for a comfortable & calm stay near the ocean. This hotel is really ideal for honey moon & romantic nights. Every morning fishermen pool their nets on the shore - it creates a special atmosphere. Hotel's manager Babu was very helpful & friendly.
Room is great - spacious with beautiful dark brown furniture.
Dinners, cooked by Babu, were fantastic - we tried wonderful shark & shrips- we do recommend to have dinners over there.
What was strange - room wasn't cleaned, we didn't remind & no one suggested.
At the beginning we planned to be there for 2 days but then stayed for 6 :) Best place for us in India!
S T R O N G L Y R E C O M M E N D ! ! !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is one of the more upscale luxurious places to stay. It is located on the Black Beach. We went in monsoon and it was lovely to have the high waves bash against beach. We were the only guests and the hotel was undergoing some renovations. There wasn't much choice at the restaurant but the limited food was decent. The room and bathroom was very big and clean. The A/C was very effective and we were thankful for it in the humidity. Service was a bit slow but I assume they were understaffed being low season so it was understandable. All staff was quite pleasant and helpful otherwise. The only thing we found weird was that the heights of the chairs on the porch didn't exactly allow you to see over the railings to the beach so the view was obstructed partially. Maybe if the chairs were higher or the railings lower it would have been just perfect. It is definitely a place to relax as the surroundings are much quieter than the main Varkala beach area which I imagine is very busy in the high season.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here in early May 2011 and would definitely recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Varkala. The food was of ok standard, but the clean rooms and staff more than made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We spent 2 days here having orginally thought just a night after spending the previous day and evening in a house boat in Allepey. Wow what -a fab experience starting with Babu the owner meeting us on route to guide aour driver down to the beachfront. We were the only ones staying due to it being low season but the sun came out Babu upgraded us to the 2 main suite rooms which were amazing. Nice comfy beds and huge bathrooms with tradtional furtniture etc...the views from the rooms were into the garden and the sea beyond. there were some lovely details such as hand carved doors and the ralings in the veranda areas. we ate there as well for the two night and could discuss what we fancied before and it was cooked up later. everyone here went out there way to help out including moving the table and chairs for breakfast down to the beach where it was cooler with the breeze. we had a car and driver and he was accomodated as well no problem. its only about a ten minute walk to the main cliff though its a very scenic one so you get peace and quiet and your own private beach front as well. Thanks again for being so welcoming Babu,Gopal et al, Max and i really enjoyed our stay and we would both highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.