We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVIOD AVOID AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gipsy Kings - CLOSED

Gipsy Kings
Northern Cliff, Varkala, India
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“AVIOD AVOID AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just ate a meal tonight. So this review is fresh in our memory. The fish in the Biryani was raw. The waiter agreed. The manager upon being told disappeared for 15 minutes and then the waiter came back and asked us again what was wrong? They would not acknowledge our complaint. The rest of the food was OK, nothing special though. We were made to feel stupid as customers, not listened too. They eventually gave us that plate for free just as our waiter started ranting and shouting at us making the the poor situation even worse.
Varkala is touristy and hardly a reflection of REAL India but toursim has taken hold when the customer fails to register anymore!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple. Avoid it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Rude and untrained staff. Average food and pathetic service. You have too many options on the cliff to waste your time here.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puducherry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasteless drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My gimlet was fine, but girlfriends Mojito was basically not fit for consumption.

Service kept pace with Kerala in general, which is to say laid back. But who cares, so are you when visiting here :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I ordered Kerala fish which was nice as the other places do not have it on the menu often in Keralan style. The downside was the price, the fish was not one the expensive ones, on the menu there is no fixed price for it, so at the end we ended up paying a lot more then what you have assumed and the other places are charging. Somewhat it was felt like to be cheated.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

at best.no attention for cleanliness,little care for standards.The location i is its saving grace.very panoramic indeed.The food is quite average and you can't pretend too much.better to stick to indian or steaks.simple food no surprises.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gipsy Kings also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gipsy Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.