We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Indian Temple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Janardhana Swami Temple

Janardhana Swami Temple
Beach Road, Varkala, India
2607575
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 10 Attractions in Varkala
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Indian Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just one thing I wanted to share.. Guys are not allowed inside the temple wearing a top.... they'll ask you to open it...
It's a 2000 years old temple...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Janardhana Temple was quiet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went just before it closed for the day and there wasn't aybody else around. There didn't seem much to see and nobody we could ask about it either. Probably give it a miss.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXAMPLE OF OLD VEDIC TEMPLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was a very old and expansive temple. very clean, excellent arathi(evening puja)-we got the chance of lighting all the candles on the walls in memory of elder recently passed

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“2000+ year old temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice temple. Many hours are not enough to watch the beauty of lord krishna's idol located in this temple. As the temple has many steps and not very suitable old people and patients with leg pain.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As this is our sixth time to India.
On this three month trip which started in kolkutta, Then we travelled down the whole of the east coast side.
We went to some of the most largers, oldest, inspiring, gob smacking, stunning, ornate & beautiful temples of several religions forgive me if i failed to get over exited about yet one more temple
If this was your first you may think this is good & im not saying it is not but wait until you have done the Golden triangle etc.
I think you can od temples

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janardhana Swami Temple also viewed

 

Been to Janardhana Swami Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Janardhana Swami Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.