We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort, just a B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Haiwa Beach Residency

The Haiwa Beach Residency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Haiwa Beach Residency to your Saves list
The Haiwa Beach Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Cliff | Varkala,Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a resort, just a B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Do not expect resort facilities. The Haiwa Resort is a B&B with basic facilities. It has an unusual high standard of cleanliness. There are no gounds outside at present. But they do have massage on site & free wifi.
The rooms & bathrooms are clean & comfortable, a reasonable size. No toiletries in bathroom just soap.
Breakfast is taken on the upstairs terrace & is very good. Starting with fresh fruit salad, toast with jam & butter & eggs as you like. There are no other 8facilities for food or drink at the Haiwa. No restaurant or Tea & coffee making facilities. You have to go to the cafes on the cliff tops, which a good 7 mins walk along a dirty uneven track & quite terechorous in the pitch dark, the tracks are not sign posted. At night there are no lights at all, so take tourch with you.
The staff are very pleasant.
The Haiwa has a no shoe policy, shoes are removed before you enter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The service is terrible. No phone, no tv, no person to help. we were told that breakfast would not be given. We had to show our booking which clearly mentioned breakfast. Breakfast served was of poor quality. They refused to clean our room, till we forced them. There were no mats, bathroom tiles were broken, hot water was not available. Hot water was provided for kids after begging for it. The place does not have a restaurent and the entire attitude of the staff was terrible. Avoid.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have a alternative title as it was so bad "a lot of NO's".
My wife & i are touring India for 3 months so are moving from one accomodation to another.
This accomodation is a not a place i would recommend to anybody becuase
There were cockroaches & other creepy crawlers in the bathroom a very strong smell of sewage, the sink tap kept falling apart & no light on top of the mirror to shave by.
The mattress was rock hard, the pillows were to soft, the air con unit leaked water straight onto the bed.
That with no tv. no fridge, no wi-fi in the bedrooms helps to make this hotel a good one to avoid at all costs.
Also because the place is built on a corner & many tuc tucs etc use the back side road the hotel is on as a short cut & they all love to use there horn as often as possible & the many crow birds that make much noise especially first thing in the morning around 6am ish all helps to go some other place & definatly not here.
lastly the beach is at least 15 minutes away & if you walk back to all the restaurants at night you will do so in the pitch back as there are no street lights.
Its a good idea to bring a torch.
Just DONT BOTHER there are loads of other better places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really helpful staff a nice bloke who gives you useful information and an excellent breakfast, location is good just a 5 minute walk to north cliff. The rooms could do with a revamp and a good clean no a/c. Overall good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Did not get pick up at the airport after having more than 4 emails to confirm pick up. Not most comfortable if you arrive at 4am. We end up taking taxi to the hotel. The room that we boked was good size with decent shower and great air conditioner. The only thing that we did not like was the bed. Very hard mattress that makes you sore everywhere.Could not get internet in our room but you could get one in common areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked over new year and paid 2700 rs on the 31st . unfortunately we did not like the room as other reviewers. I would raccomend to avoid the small ground floor rooms.Because they are ddark and smelly. It can even at this location become quite noisy in early morning due to guest leaving and arriving. The staff was friendly enough. In 3 days the room was never cleaned and when we left quite a bit of sand had accumulated. The worst was that the towels were dirty when we arrived. I guess it could be worse, but also better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to book this hotel through booking.com as there was nothing left in our price range in Varkala as we booked 4 days before New Year!

The rooms are big, very clean and secure and 5 min walk to the beach but far enough away to be nice and quiet.

Wifi available in reception, very friendly staff and air conditioning have made our 2 day stay extremely pheasant and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a mid-range hotel in Varkala!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haiwa Beach Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haiwa Beach Residency

Address: North Cliff | Varkala,Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Haiwa Beach Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best. Your vacation starts here. Haiwa's hot spot on the beach.We have a choice of air conditioned and non air condition rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Haiwa Beach Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haiwa Beach Residency Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haiwa Beach Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.