We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views and pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K R House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K R House
Save
You added K R House to your Saves list
Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 74 Varkala B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely views and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

KR House is a good budget homestay. There is a 'private' beach with steps down the cliff from the hotel. KR house claims to be a "luxury boutique residency" - although the views are incredible and the location serene, the room itself isn't great. There were several electrical problems when we arrived and the bed was hilariously uncomfy. There was no linen and we had to use our sleeping bag liners. However everything was spotless. The real gem of the hotel however was the manager - he was very charming and even offered to give us lifts into varkala town for free in his car. If I were to return to Varkala I would probably be more inclined to stay at the busier North Cliff where the bulk of the touristy restaurants etc are located. However, this is a lovely local spot and I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2013 and had a lovely stay. We chose the South end of the beach for complete peace and quiet so I cannot compare it to the North end which we didn't visit. Our host Ramachandran has great character and was very helpful in organising rickshaws to restaurants in town and organising us a cheap room on the ground floor of this small guesthouse. I think this is the only budget option in South beach but was very reasonable for us. The garden is very well kept with steep steps leading down to a practically deserted beach. Perfect for those who like peace and quiet on a budget. Eating at first seemed a bit of a hassle.. all of the smarter accommodation around us had hugely inflated restaurant prices but Ramachandran's recommendations were perfect and affordable (defintely head to Hotel Dwaraka in town for amazing Keralan Thalis).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It seems people either love or hate owner Ramachandran by the looks of things on here. He can be rather abrupt and sharp but we found after a couple of days he was a very nice man indeed and told us about a great thali joint in the town that we returned to on a number of occasions as it was one of the best we visited in south India. The location is unbeatable on south cliff as we wanted some peace and quiet which we got in abundance. The guest house has its own stairs leading down to the beach and the view from the the bottom of the garden on the cliff top is amazing. People have complained on having to purchase toilet roll but in the more budget end of the scale in India this is pretty much to be expected. A very relaxing stay in a wonderful location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night only out of season - but moved quickly to Varkala cliff as it was a little too quiet and only 1 place open to eat.
However in season, I imagine this is quite a good alternative to Varkala itself - pretty garden overlooking the clifftops and you can take a small path right down to the beach and do yoga on a covered area over the rooms. The owner was indeed quite abrupt but was very efficient and took us in his car to Varkala when we left, showing us good places to eat and stuff along the way.
OK value for money - I think we paid 600 rupees a night - for a pretty basic double room in the garden nearest the cliff - bucket shower, towels, no a/c and there was a mozzie net.
Yes - bring loo roll but that applies to most places ...
We ate at the Aryuvedic resort next door which served very heathy and tasty food but no alcohol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have just returned from a short tour of Kerala with my daughter aged 8. K R House was a real gem of all the places we stayed. Mr Ramchandran was there to meet us when we arrived and provided an excellent, helpful, flexible and fair service. The room was good value for money, cheap but very clean and with everything needed, including efficient mosquito nets.
There was access to the South beach down a wonderful flight of steps. My daughter and I walked down to the main beach in the morning for a swim from there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Perfectly located on the South cliff rather than the busy North. Perfect as a couples retreat, but would perhaps have chosen North cliff on a friends trip. The owner is as earlier reviews state very thorough and matter-of-factly, but not rude. In our eyes he was very helpful and he drove us to town and showed us the important locations without asking anything in return. 24/7 guard outside, so you can come and go as you wish if you go for drinks on the north side. (Unless he falls asleep offcourse, which he did in our case;). The location is beautiful and calm, and there is a friendly Aurveda and yoga retreat next to it where you can take classes and Ayurveda treatments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Travelling as a couple and stayed here as part of a budget(ish) trip of India. We were looking for a quieter, friendly place away from the 'party' scene of the North Cliff.

Easy to get to from the station and it was easy to get a good price in tuk-tuk or taxi.

Mr Ramchandaran is as he is described in the books- efficient! He looked after so well and told exactly what we should an shouldnt do. The private steps to the beach were open and closed exactly on time and there were mats provided.

Yes we did have to pay for toilet roll but the water was hot, the rooms had big mossie nets, they were cleaned daily and there was so much peace and quiet we didnt mind. This is India after all!

North Cliff is only a short Tuk-Tuk ride away for a few drinks and shopping if you want and there are some great temples nearby.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seem to have kitchens for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K R House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K R House

Address: Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Also Known As:
K R House Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K R House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.