We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Save
You added Kaiya House to your Saves list
Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141,, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Remarkable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

In Varkala I highly recommend to stay at the boutique hotel "Kaya house". The owner Debra will meet you like a mother, a sister or the best friend :) And she really will do her best to make your stay in Kerala remarkable.

Lithuanian:

Nerealūs įspūdžiai. Debra nepakartojama. Jei Jums pasiseks kada apsistoti Kaiya house, suprasite, ką reiškia svetingumas :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
141
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I felt as if I new Debra before I met her. We had exchanged many emails and she was most helpful. We arrive at 11pm were she had arranged and paid for a taxi to pick us up. When we arrived she remembered we were on our honeymoon and greeted us with flowered garlands a very nice touch. Following morning went on the roof terrace for breakfast were we met her faithfull team. She took us for a walk round the local area, pointing out the do's and dont's. Told us where good places to buy gifts, prices and NO she is not on commision just a geuine friendly person helping her guests.
We got back to Kaiya house and she asked us if we wanted to go to Hindu festival later in the day. Tuk Tuks arranged off we go to a piercing festival - not for the faint hearted!!
Finally managed to get cash out of ATM and paid Debra for room and taxi she had arranged. We also asked that we were interested in a Hindu blessing for our recent marriage. Babuchi arranged this for us and was a fantastic experience.
Debra is a fantastic host who only has her guesst best interest at heart. She looked after our baggage for 5 days whilst we went touring Kerala with a back pack each. Final night she arranged a party and nibbles for all her guests, it was a great end to our honeymoon.
Kaiya house is such a chilled out lovely place, the rooms are decorated to a high standard and very comfy beds.
Love you Deb and thanks for a great time - We will be back
PS - Say hi to Harpoo the most honest tuk tuk driver you will ever meet

Room Tip: Book Early to avoid disappointment - We loved the Chinese room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our second visit in 14 months to Kaiya House, we spent 6 nights and what a wonderful stay it was, everything was as we remembered with Debra and all the staff looking after our every needs. Kaiya House is such a relaxing place where the breakfasts are fantastic and the coffee is on tap. Debra informed us of a local festival that was about 70kms away and arranged transport there and what a great outing it was. The place is spotless and the rooms are great. All the other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion as us. Many Thanks to all at Kaiya House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we spent 2 weeks with Debra and everyone at Kaiya House and it was exactly what we wanted. Debra is such a brilliant host, so was Suraj. Babuchi made lovely Keralan breakfasts which we had up on the roof terrace while watching the kingfisher and other birds in the coconut groves. Debra was a mine of local information, and arranged for us to go to some local Hindu festivals - we felt truly privileged to be able to witness them. Like other who have stayed here, we were so pleased we made the effort to get up early for the walk - one early morning in a fortnight was definitely doable!! Kaiya House is ideally located, nearer the village than the tourist centre on the cliffs, but only 10 minutes walk away so we had the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: some rooms have a/c but we managed very well without it. all windows and doors have mosquito screens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Kaiya house for 7 days, Debra (owner) and her very friendly team can't do enough to help you, everything is organised and looked after impeccably. The whole house is kept spotless, decor is very stylish and the bed was comfortable. The upper terrace is fabulous place to stay cool, socialise and relax. Debra has some excellent contacts with locals for taxis and tuk-tuk's, day trips and the world’s best masseuse. The house is ideally located halfway between the town and the north cliff/beach area making walking easy even in the heat. You get a personal tour of the area and plenty of free advice. We would highly recommend it to anyone and we will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Book early if you can to get a room with air-conditioning located at the rear to reduce the posabili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Kaiya house in January- originally for 4 nights but then after a brief stint somewhere else in the area I came back for another two nights because I missed the place, Debra and the people I met there! The house itself feels really homely and is beautifully decorated, and Babachi and Haman were lovely and attentive and made delicious breakfasts - we had these on the roof top which is a peaceful haven. Debra goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable, to make sure you see any festivals going on locally, and the sunrise walk along the cliff was a real highlight. Loved my time here and would defo stay again next time I'm in Varkala!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We sent two weeks at Kaiya house being cared for by Debra and her team. Nothing was to much and even the coffee was great. We enjoyed meeting the flow of interesting people through the home and made several friends. Breakfast on the large roof terrace was excellent and the center of social activity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141,, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiya House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.