We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish home away from the crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Save
You added Kaiya House to your Saves list
Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141,, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A stylish home away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at Kaiya House for two nights in mid April, just a week before everything closes down in Varkala at the end of the season. Debra is a gracious and tremendously considerate host. We felt welcomed and taken care of the moment we arrived. We also appreciated the considerate emails and reservation process leading up to our stay. The house is thoughtfully decorated and laid out with individually styled rooms. We would have liked to stay in each of them for a least a night. Everything in the house is pleasantly clean, spacious and beautifully maintained. The roof terrace is a great place to hang out and meet fellow travelers, have breakfast, chai or a beer. It seems to invite yoga or drawing classes and Debra mentioned that she would like to see the space used to create art and exchange ideas. Kaiya House was a perfect place for us to rest from our busy travel schedule and escape the touristy bustle of Varkala Beach.

Room Tip: We were happy with the English Room, even in the mid April heat. The room does not have AC, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Owner at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review and choosing Kaiya House for your stay in Varkala. It was lovely to meet you and I hope our paths cross again. My only regret is that your stay wasn't longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
141
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Debra has a unique personal touch... felt from the moment of arrival, and visible throughout Kaiya House. Boutique Homestay is a very appropriate description.
After sitting down for a welcoming briefing and the ordinary Indian lenghty check-in formalities, Debra did something that no other host has ever done... she took us on a walking tour of the surrounding area, including buying bananas for the temple elephant, down to the beach, to the cliffs, and showed us the way back to the house for later on, as she returned earlier to meet the next arrival and repeat the tour.
The decor of the house is a collection of a lifetime of open mind and open heart.
The rooftop lounge is a favourite place.
I liked that the location was not right on the cliffs in the tourist area, but just a ten minute walk away from the helipad.
p.s. Breakfast is made to order and it is delicious.
Thank you Debra and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Owner at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I thank you for your kind review. I'm also really pleased with the photos you posted, very unique view and it added your personal touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A wonderful place to stay! Debra is an incredible host - not only does she show real attention to detail and ensure your stay meets every possible expectation, she is just so warm and welcoming you'll be feeling at home before you know it! She arranged everything we needed - from personal yoga tuition on the gorgeous roof terrace, to cooking classes with her lovely local family members to a personally guiding me along a wonderful sunrise walk by the coast.

The rooms are lovely, each individually and tastefully designed to a specific country theme, and the breakfasts are tailored to each guest. The roof terrace is a great place to have a few drinks, practice yoga, eat breakfast, dance the night away, play cards - or witness an amazing tropical storms.

I cannot wait to go back - and in fact extended my stay, preferring to remain at Kaiya rather than head over to the 5 star resort we had booked for our last two nights in Kerala.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Totally depends on taste - ask Debra to talk through the options on the phone if you're particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Yes the dancing on the roof was fabulously fun and the storm was wild! I can't believe the rain came all the way into the center of the rooftop! It was great meeting all of you and I too hope you return! Thanks you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We intended to stay one night at the delightful Kaiya House and ended up staying four. The en suite rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. In addition, complimentary refreshments were available all day. The house is a beautifully decorated space with an airy, relaxing rooftop where we ate breakfast, watched birds during the late afternoons and whiled away time chatting with our lovely host, Debra, who. beguiled us with her fascinating stories. She couldn't have been more helpful, from giving us a guided tour of the town, arranging trips / drivers when we needed them,down to the finer details of lending umbrellas, binoculars, etc. Other members of staff at Kaiya were also very friendly and accommodating. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this excellent value for money accommodation to any of our friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I also enjoyed those chats on the roof and I was so pleased you choose to stay some extra days! It was really a pleasure to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay run by Debra, a very caring and helpful host. We liked the location as Kaiya House in not on the cliff but much more part of real Indian Varkala rather than being in the more tourist orientated area. The hotel is near the 2000 year old temple and bustling Temple Junction. If you want to get to the beach it's only a 10 minute walk. The breakfasts include a great selection of Keralan options. The new roof terrace is a nice cool palce to relax and read. The rooms are clean and comfortable with attractive decor. Debra is a really helpful and caring host and she will organise excursions to places of interest such as the backwaters. She also organised an airport pick up for us. and showed us nice walks and good places to shop. All highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
It was great to have you stay for a good amount of time. I'm pleased you liked the location and took full advantage of local things to do. I also loved that you spent quite a lot of time staying on the rooftop to just relax and read. That was exactly what I had in mind when I added it this past year. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Debra is the hostess with the mostest! She does everytrhing to ensure that your stay in her lovely house is a memorable one! From taking you on a familiarisation walk, to a 7 kilometre coastal footpath trail, to arranging the shopping for the wine, even through to money lending, nothing is too much trouble for her and her lovely staff.

The newly furbished roof top is a great place to take breakfast and plan the day ahead, and the food was always fresh and delicious.

The rooms are great, although a bit on the small side, but this was not a problem, as it was so well thought out and spotlessly clean.

Every detail is thought of at Kaiya House and we were spoiled rotten!

Debra has a background in hospitality and the service business and it definitely shows - nshe is interested in her guests as real people, and all in all Kaiya House is a great place to stay.

Many thanks Debra for helping us to have a lovely week with you.

Room Tip: The African Room is great fun, especially if you like masks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review! I miss seeing you two out for the day on the scooter! You really got around and likely discovered places I don't even know about. I'm also glad you enjoyed the walk. It's one of my favorite things to do here when I have the time and I enjoy sharing it. I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

debra's kaiya house is a fantastic place to stay
Beautiful decoration and a roof area is great place to relax .
Serves the delicious breakfast at roof..
All the best for the future ..
A nice place recommended to stay in varkala

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you so much for saying you would recommend us and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141,, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiya House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.