We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for dinner in Varkala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oottupura

Oottupura
Next to Helipad, Varkala, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Varkala
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Part fo Jicky's hotel. Excellent good value vegetarian restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Part fo Jicky's hotel. Excellent good value vegetarian restaurant
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place for dinner in Varkala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This vegetarian restaurant did the best dinner we ate in Varkala. Although the restaurant had only the most basic furniture, looked quite ordinary, and is just a bit out of the way (by the helipad), it was friendly and the food was excellent and cheap. If you ask for a vegetable cutlet for a starter be warned, it is big enough for two people! We wished we had discovered this place before our last night because we would have gone there every day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“one of the best meals we had in Varkala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Don't be put off by the parking lot in front of the restaurant---it kind of adds to the funky charm of the place. The food is very good and the owner is a kind man who gave us lots of terrific "must eat" suggestions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch as our Lonely Planet (2012) guide suggested it was good value, "with mains from Rs 35". Prices must have gone up recently - cheapest is around Rs 80! However, this seems to put it in line with the other establishments along the north cliff, and the food was tasty and good size portions (although our "large pot" of tea was only a third full). Would go back, but don't expect a real bargain.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala, India
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Tali expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

nice vegetarian food, but the prices have gone up alot since last year, its in a quiet location which is good though....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited the restaurant for dinner and lunch the following day. Food (Chinese) was quite good but their Thali was average. They also seemed to be understaffed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oottupura also viewed

 
Varkala, Kerala
 

Been to Oottupura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oottupura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.