We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Villa to your Saves list
Mango Villa
North Cliff, Kurakkanni | Behind Tibetan Market, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zanka, Hungary
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“perfect for relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Mango Villa and wished we could stay a bit longer! It was one of the best and nicest accomodations while we stayed in India. Perfectly located near to the cliffs and everything nearby and still in a quiet and very friendly environment, full of flowers and green, and accordingto this time with a christmas tree, we just loved it! We arrived here after 5 weeks of travelling and this was the first time the owner immediately showed us around the neighbourhood and giving us tips for everything, she was extremely helpful and kind with us all the time and also let us stay longer on our last day, we were very thankful for that, too. So if in Varkala, definately stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
50
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mango Villa for four nights and wished we had more time there.

The property is owned and run by Vinciane, who is extremely helpful and kind. She walked us to the Tibetan Market and gave us some good tips about restaurants, where to get coffee etc.

We opted for a non AC room and it was cooling enough with the fan in the night. The room was tastefully furnished and has a nice big balcony for relaxing. Everything was spotlessly clean: the room, the bathroom, towels and bed sheets. It was our home away from home!

It was also great to see that Vinciane tried to be as green as possible: energy saving bulbs, recycling and solar panels for the warm water.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for great accommodation with European cleanliness and standards as well as a friendly host!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

What can we say...perfect place Vession, Thomas (I see a tigggerr) Manni and lovely Rada will show you how beautiful India can be. Concerts under the mango magic nights. Perfect cleanliness Belgium standards quality rooms to relax ( the lower rooms are cheaper and cool without ac). Comfort and quality with a relaxed caring service at International levels.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mango Villa in Varkala for 3 nights, a lovely guest house just behind the Tibetan Market. Vinciennes, our host, could not do enough for us. She walked us down to the beach the day we arrived so we knew our way around, arranged for one of her staff to pick up a delicious papaya for us from the market, and even lent us her only umbrella on the one evening it was raining so we could get out for dinner. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and the spacious balcony overlooked the small but beautiful garden. Although they don't do any meals they are 2-3 minutes walk to the many cafes and restaurants on Varkala Beach. We'd happily recommend Mango Villa to anybody.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the lovely garden. Ideally ask for a first floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Vinciane, the owner of Mango Villa and her lovely young son, Thomas warmly greeted us when we arrived from .
Alleppey and continued to be very friendly and helpful the whole time.

Our room was modern, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with a spacious balcony overlooking the pretty little colourful garden with yes, a mango tree.

Hot water was provided for the shower which was heated by solar panels, but a cold one was more refreshing as the weather was hot when we were there in early March. Towels were provided for both the bathroom and the beach.

Just a short walk led to the cliff top, the clean, sandy, low-key Varkala beach and a wide choice of restaurants (some with wonderful coffee) and little shops. If you are a fish lover there are plenty of restaurants offering various fresh fish which you can have cooked on their premises.

We really enjoyed our four nights at Mango Villa and it was a wonderful end to our two months in India. Thank you Vinciane.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Because Mango Villa is new, it is spotlessly clean with clean bathrooms although the shower is in the middle of the bathroom. Vinciane is lovely and helpful. Great large balcony although you can hear everything said next door and the neighbourhood burns their garbage everyday and the ashram and nearby temple have their loudspeakers of prayer most of the time. The beds are very hard but nice and big. The room is large but lighting so dark you cant read your book. Great airconditioning. We did find the place pricey especially without breadfast. We absolutley loved Verkala, the food, oh the food, the gorgeous cliff and ocean breezes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was a planned trip to Varkala with my Girlfriend, and I had booked a room for two days at Mango Villa. I sent an e-mail to Vinciane, the Belgian lady who owns the resort, asking whether a room can be booked for two days. She helped me thoroughly regarding availability of room, advance payment for the booking. She was also very prompt at answering whatever queries I had regarding Varkala; how to reach, cellphone coverage, where to eat etc.

Honestly, the location of Mango Villa is not easily accessible, and one has to get off the main road, walk trhough thin alleys to reach there and get lost in the rural maze of local houses and other villas around. Thanks to Vinciane, she arranged a cab for pickup from the airport, which drove us right to the gate of Mango Villa.

When we arrived (it was very late, 1 AM), vinciane was awake, and we were provided an excellent room to stay. It was an AC room, well decorated, balcony for smoking (also, a fridge in the balcony to keep your drinks), in all, a very clean room. I felt the price we paid for the room was apt, it was well deserved.

For the next two days, Vinciane kept guiding us where to go in Varkala, when to reach beach, where to find an ATM and all other queries we had. Fooding is not provided at Mango villa, but it is just 150 metres from the north cliff, where you get tibetan restaurants lined up, serving breakfast to dinner, 7 AM to 12 Midnight. Vinciane walked with us to the tibetan market and made sure we understood the route back, so that we dont get lost.

To summarize,
plus:
- hospitality
- ambiance of the rooms
- Treatment and helpfulness of the owner and staff
- surrounding
- proximity to tibetan market and beach

cons:
- food is not provided
- you definitely need to ask Vinciane to arrange a cab for you. No one else can find this villa for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Villa

Address: North Cliff, Kurakkanni | Behind Tibetan Market, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Villa is a guesthouse having two categories of rooms, AC and Non-AC. The guesthouse is located in a secluded and quiet area with local atmosphere but in the heart of Varkala activities. Only 200m from the beach, Mango Villa is surrounded by a beautiful small garden. Each room is individually decorated and has its own big bathroom with hot water and comfortable balcony. Mango Villa is situated behind the Tibetan Market and should not be confused with Mango House which is another guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Villa Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.