We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Exotic Stay at La Exotica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Exotica Homestay

La Exotica Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Exotica Homestay to your Saves list
La Exotica Homestay
Helipad, North Cliff,, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 75 Varkala B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Exotic Stay at La Exotica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We were on a holiday for recluse and what better place than the cliff beach at Varkala and the homely atmosphere at La Exotica. The luxourious rooms with pristine toilets, affectionate staff, manager and owner. Personal touch to each requirement....be it sight seeing, travel, food guide etc. The welcome to the departure had a never experienced warmth and goddness. Great place to stay on a holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We enjoyed the spacious room, the nice bathroom and the cute balcony with the sea view, and the treatment we received from the owner and from young Joe was considerate and warm without too much nagging.
Tehiya & Ariella

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

New place right on the Helipad so well located. Rooms are large, well equipped and comfortable. Lacking a bit of atmosphere, staff friendly but management is a bit cold which is a shame otherwise would be much better. There are cheaper more friendly places (maybe slightly shabbier) on the cliff that I would go for next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Arrived in the dark after a 7 hour drive. We just wanted to get our heads down for the night and this place looked smart from the street (right next to the helipad). The lad on reception agreed to a very low price and we checked in. Nice room on the ground floor. Next morning, the other half went for a scout about town but after looking at an upstairs room we negotiated a great price and couldn't believe our luck. HUGE room, MASSIVE balcony, lovely furniture, great bathroom. Internet access. A tele. The place is spotless and mozzie free (when we were there). The staff were very welcoming. Overlooking the Helipad, you are never more than 30 seconds walk from a tuk-tuk/taxi if you need one, the "strip" starts about 50 yards away yet we could never hear any noise from the bars at any time of the day. The best value place we stayed in India. (Doubt you'd get to haggle in December though!)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We spent our first 4 nights in the La Exotica at the helipad in Varkala as recommended by friends and it was a very lovely & calm stay at a reasonable price. Even our arrival at 4 a.m. as well as a breakfast at 11.30 a.m. due to that late arrival was no problem. The room was clean with balcony to the sea. The management and staff were absolutely nice and supportive. The breakfast was almost too much for two people :-). Lots of fresh fruit & juice, indian bread, omlettes, toast, coffee or tea. It is located at the beginning of North Cliff and a good starting point either to North or South Cliff. It is perfekt for those who want to be on the spot but also want to stay at a calm place at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

every time it was a nice service, the manager was very kind. The room was very clean, also the hotel. Come and spend your holliday here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Exotica Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Exotica Homestay

Address: Helipad, North Cliff,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your La Exotica Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Exotica Homestay Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Exotica Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.