We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mummy Bamboo House
Save
You added Mummy Bamboo House to your Saves list
Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 75 Varkala B&B and Inns
Solf, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a coup de coeur. We looked around for a cheap and good place to stay and was struck by the tidyness of the room and the big warm smile of the owner. Simply Love this place. Clean and tidy. Simple basic room. Very good value. Lovely people. Good spirit. Always greeted with an honest and friendly smile. Upper room has a nice and comfortable balcony. Downstairs there are even hammocks, but less privacy at the terrace. Two minutes from the beach, one minute from the restaurant/shop-walking street. Calm but still some cozy everyday life of the family going on in the garden. Yoga and ayurveda close by. Highly recommendalbe. I stress: Highly! We started our stay in a bigger room, but changed to Mummy Bamboo House after a few nights. This place is so much better and still we pay 1/3 of the price of the other room.. Wifi in the room is a plus.

Room Tip: Upper room has more privacy on the balcony, but downstairs the rooms have a tempting hammock. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
55
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very close to the beach, restaurants and shops. beautiful and comfortable room with private balcony. The price was extremely affordable from the beginning with minimal bartering needed. The hotel owners (a lovely family) were honest and good people and they did utmost to accommodate us. Would recommend to everyone! Plus, best hotel name ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We didnt stay at mummy bamboo but enjoyed a cooking lesson by rani. Although she was rather critical of our cutting skills, we learned a great deal about keralan food and i can honestly say it was the tastiest meal ive enjoyed in india yet. Dont expect luxury kitchenwear but do take in this authentic experience! Did i mention the homemade coconut oil?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A nice quiet place, 1 street behind the beach. Great location, good price comparing to other hotels, and very clean. I defenetly recommand this place, and will be back.
Arrived there in Feb.2013 and had a very comfortable stay. Staff was always smiling and wellcoming to help and assist. Very safe place. The beach and all restaurants are located 1 minute walk from it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for the most my time in Varkala. One of my most comfortable stays in India for the 4 and half months that I was there.
Rani is awesome. The atmosphere is homely with the touch of the family environment. The rooms were always clean and neat. The beach is within walking distance. The fact that this place is a little walk away from the cliff makes it amazing. Of course there is lots that Rani shared during my stay there. She cooked and gave cooking lessons. Laundry was also available when needed.
I will never consider staying anywhere else is Varkala, ever.
I will return to Varkala sometime soon.

Room Tip: The verandah rooms upstairs are my fav, especially the one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came for 4 days and thanks to Rani's hospitality ended up staying 15. The rooms are spotless and just a 2 minute walk to stunning Varkala beach. Rani have us a Keralan cooking lesson her food is amazing, so we enjoyed several breakfasts and lunches believe me you will never go hungry!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It' a really nice place to stay-i' ve been living there for 2weeks in a single room-it was a good chance to get a single cheap room in a good place)))the only hing is -birds, chirping all he night long & morning time.. But they are everywhere, so it was ok)wi-fi was a really good advantage!people are very nice and friendly-the yard was clean enough-indian style clean i mean)
But anyway, it' s worth staying, especially if you know, how to bargain))))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mummy Bamboo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.