We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home stay in Varkala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mummy Bamboo House
Save
You added Mummy Bamboo House to your Saves list
Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 75 Varkala B&B and Inns
Herzlia, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home stay in Varkala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Mummy rooms were in great location, and the atmosphere was warm, safe and clean.. just like at home..
The owners were great warm people that entered us into their home and gave us a real Indian experience. wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
55
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our trip around Kerala. We couldn't have hoped for a more warm and welcoming experience. Rani is a wonderful hostess who made us feel at home. The downstairs room was roomy and the air conditioner was a welcome sight. Great value for money and the a case of bottled water in the room was a great idea.
Rani offers a gem of a guesthouse set back a few hundred yards from the cliff top however it was very peaceful.
If you go make sure you have one of Ran's delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at Mummy Bamboo house for 1000 rupees per night. It was an ideal location - easy walk to local restaurants and beach and situated among yoga/ayuverdic treatment centres.

Mummy Bamboo was extremely welcoming - she sent a rickshaw to pick us up from the bus station and offered home cooked meals, helped with washing etc.

Our room was clean with A/C and ensuite bathroom. There was also a hammock outside for relaxing.. Unfortunately there were noisy dogs on the 2nd night and there is some building work in the adjacent house which slightly disturbed our sleep! I'm sure this won't be a problem for many though.

Just a quick note though - make sure you check the times of trains when leaving as Mummy told us our train to Cochin was at 6am and luckily we arrived a bit early as it actually left at 0545!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My sister and I have just spent three fantastic weeks at Mummy Bamboo guesthouse. It is the PERFECT base from which to explore beautiful Varkala! Perfectly located mid way along the cliff and set back to avoid the hustle and bustle. It is extremely well priced considering other options in the area. Rani and Sudanen offer an airport pick up service which is reliable and inexpensive. Rani also made us delicious Thali...and we heard her breakfasts were pretty spectacular too. All in all, a great stay... we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had two adjacent upstairs bedrooms (non AC). Great balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

2nd vist to mummys and it's nice to know somethings don't change,a warm welcome from Suduanen at the airport and then Rani and the family at the house. The room was spotless and the hammock just as welcoming.This really is a relaxing place to vist and Ranis cooking lessons were as popular as ever and eating the results even more so .The festival parades were really enjoyable,the locals really know how to enjoy themselves. The place to stay in Varkala,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in total (5 nights first then 2 nights).
This was our first stay here with Rani and her family. After a shaky start because of a greedy Taxi Driver we settled into our room happily. (This was not of Rani's making).
Security here was not a problem if you are sensible and with the guard dog Vikki we felt safe. It is not on the front and is very quiet for it's central location. Less than 1 minute walk to the cliff. The room and bathroom was clean and functional. We were in a room with just a fan. As it was really hot we asked Rani for a possible change to aircon, but when she offered us another fan, this was the perfect solution. There was no hot water, but this is certainly not needed in March! We did not eat here, but could've done if we wanted to and were told, by other guests, that the food is delicious. If you are lucky to be there when Brett, the Aussie, is there he is like a tour guide on his own and was able to give us a couple of excellent tips. Especially as we wanted to go to Kovalem. He advised us about the AC Bus that runs directly from Varkala to Kovalem without having to change at Trivandrum.
If you are on a budget/backpacking this is an ideal place to lay your head.
We visited nearly every bar/restaurant on the cliff and recommend all of them, but we especially recommend Abba for Breakfast with it's Abba special. Very Good VFM.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is our second stay with Rani, Sudhanen, Aria and Akil, and our 3rd stay in Varkala.

We always choose the rooms down stairs at the front so that we can be involved with the daily happenings.

Always love Rani's cooking, especially the Crab curry - Banana pancakes were a favorite with Mum for breakfast, and we loved the Idly's and Samba.

The location is perfect - close to the cliff face and also the stairs to the beach - taxi service available at Mummy Bamboo and also TUK TUK's for local travel. Many restaurants so very close to home.

Yoga classes on the roof top at Keeratheeram (next door) were excellent and cheap too!

Ther service at Rani's is excellent and anything you need she can arrange, from cooking classes to shopping trips into the local markets.

Hotel rates are excellent value and the rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mummy Bamboo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.