We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and Rest !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Soul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabian Soul
Save
You added Arabian Soul to your Saves list
No. 349 ,Kurakanni Village, Near Helipad | Kurakanni Village, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paleros
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet and Rest !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

From the first look i thought that this is a unique place to be..and i was right!
Walked into this lovely guest house i felt like i was home, the people are so friendly
and they make sure that you get what you need.
Is a quiet and a very relax full place to be, in my next visit though i take a room witch include the
bathroom.
My bed and room was tide and clean, reasonable price and great talks with the owner,
thank you for helping me to get around India faster and smoother :)
They also let me boil my own rice in their kitchen !
is worth every moment of your stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for around a week, at the time it was 500 inr a night, which for the gardens, rooms and general feel of the place was outstanding. what made me chose this place initially was its location, situated right next to the helipad on the main path of the cliff it is really easy to find, even if your half cut and dont have a torch (not recommended!). The owner was sound and kept letting me extend my stay, even letting me keep my stuff in the hotel when i did and overnight jaunt to kanyakumari. One thing i would say to the owners is do something with you roofspace, it has lovely views of the ocean and even a couple of cushions would work wonders.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we wanted to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 4 nights! the time we spent at that place at Varkala Beach will be one of the greatest experiences of our holiday in India! the area is simply beautiful!

what we liked
- the location at Varkala Beach cannot be better! it is right by the cliffs but also just a little inland, so that one is not disturbed by the people passing by. and since it is at the south end of the north cliff, there are not so many tourists passing by anyway...
- we loved the little garden, surrounding the house! great place for breakfast and afternoon chill out!
- some of the rooms have sea-view and you can also see the sea from the garden
- Naveen as a manager is such a nice and caring person on the one side and good company on the other! without him the place would only be half of the fun ;-)
- wifi of course!

our tip:
- rent a scooter for one day and discover other beaches and backwaters!!! scooter costs only 300 plus another 300 for patrol...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Arabian Soul when we were in Varkala in late October. The rooms were lovely, airy & spacious, and they were also very clean and tidy, (such a treat in India!). The view from our room was truly stunning and and the guesthouse has a really peaceful feel to it, set back in a lovingly maintained, colourful garden at the edge of the cliff. A healthy tasty breakfast in garden in the morning is perfect way to start the day. Naveen is very helpful and a wealth of useful & interesting information on the area and South India in general. We would highly recommend Arabian Soul to anyone looking for a lovely, relaxing guesthouse in Varkala.

Room Tip: Request an Ocean view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We loved loved loved Arabian Soul... was right on the cliff with the most stunning views of the ocean but at one end so still peaceful while being in the heart of things. The gardens are pretty, the rooms are CLEAN, Navi was super helpful with any request or information and the Wifi was pretty strong for India... And on the odd occasion a power cut had stopped it from working we were able to pick up wifi from People cafe next door from our room (you need to eat or drink there for the password). Would definitely recommend and would stay here again next time! :)

Room Tip: The front two rooms are the ones with the sea views but the others have garden views so they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived at Varkala station having travelled from Kumily, (bus to Kottayam and then train to Varkala) a long journey, but a really good way to travel by bus and train, you certainly experience the true way of Indian travel.
We caught an ancient, ambassador taxi from the station to the helipad on north cliff, the homestay is a 30 second walk from the helipad.
We had booked 2 nights here. Naveen,who owns and runs the homestay showed us to our room, which was at the top of the building, a very light airy room, with views of the sea. Very comfortable beds, and a hot shower.
There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, all serving great food. We had breakfast in the homestay, sat on a balcony in the garden...good coffee!
Naveen is a interesting person to chat to. He has a lovely garden where you can sit and relax, or a few mins walk and you are on the beach. He also provides chilled, filtered water which was greatly appreciated.
Good place to stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

i stayed here in august and was very happy with my room it was clean and private and has wifi its location was perfect as it is on the cliff of the beach, naveen the owner is a great guy very helpful and it was good being able to speak with him and get an overall honest view about india. when i return to india in the future i would definatley return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Soul

Address: No. 349 ,Kurakanni Village, Near Helipad | Kurakanni Village, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Arabian Soul Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.