We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sanctum Spring Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Helipad, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I have booked through Makemytrip.com on 17.03.2014 and went along with my family.They are providing ground floor room near reception. These rooms are having no balcony and no privacy at all.

Breakfast was pathetic. They have only two staff to serve.

We really lost our money. They are discriminating people those who have booked online and through direct.

Please do not waste you money.

Atul

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location is very nice, close to everything and a breath away from all the fuss of the busy area. Direct view to the sea and a 3 minute walk to the beach. We made reservations for 3 rooms not knowing if there are different categories of rooms; Executive & Suite, the latter being more expensive. We stayed on what appears to be the lower priced room, on the ground floor. As such, there are no complains here, especially considering the price we payed. However I would suggest that those rooms are shown on the hotel's site, so that you can consider your options before making a reservation. Our rooms had a/c, ceiling fan and TV. The absolute basic and clean bathroom did not have a tub, or shower tray, or some sort of enclosure. The whole bathroom floor was yours to use as shower. Messy for the next person who wants to use the bathroom... The extremely firm bed mattresses were not inviting for a comfortable sleep. Staff was VERY helpful. There is wi-fi available but the range of coverage may not leave everyone happy. Overall, don't expect luxuries here but a clean place to stay at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is in a good location adjacent to the Helipad. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, most with a good command of the English language. Western standards of service provision are understood and met which is unusual in most hotels in India in this price bracket. The only criticism is the internet speed, which generally slow (although this is fairly typical across India). My husband and I really appreciated the lack of fuss that the staff made when we mislaid our room key - thank-you one and all.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a suite - they're big for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Would definitely recommend this bargain hotel. It is extremely clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Its location is excellent as it is in at the helipad/ middle cliff (close to north and south cliff). Very peaceful place and beautiful rooms/ garden area. Helipad separates the hotel from the cliff yet this adds to the peace/ quietness of the place and you can see thr sea from thr balconies which are lovely to sit on and relax as the sun is setting. Staff very helpful and the cleaners are all lovely and well presented and friendly. Breakfast is very simple but there are many places in close proximity if you need something more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel has everything you need at a reasonable cost. The staff are very helpful and friendly, most of the rooms have a sea view and a balcony to sit on and watch the sun go down., hot water and wi-fi 24hours a day. Also the location is good, between north and south cliff. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for one on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The location is very good, right on the helipad. The service was very good most of the staff were helpful. Room was clean but average. Beds were very hard. Not sure about the value for the money. After a month in India it was nice to have satellite tv. We did not eat at the restaurant because of so many option right next to the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Upon reading the reviews here I thought we'd got the wrong hotel!!
In contrast to the positive reviews I think this hotel is a backpacker budget hotel charging double what it is worth!!
Cons:
No wifi in room
Room scruffy with battered old furniture
Horrible lighting - just bare energy bulbs
Hard bed with springs sticking in your back (the worst we'd slept in during our three weeks in India!)
Hard pillows
Holes in sheets
Bathroom is very dated and had cracks in tiles & sink
Exposed pipes covered in tape
Wires hanging out of light
Plastic fittings with mould

I'll be fair and point out the pro's:
Clean
Staff ok
TV good, small but had lots of channels (useful when you can't sleep because the bed is so uncomfortable)
Location good - near bars and on the cliff.
I must be missing something, I can't believe the previous reviews are so good!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear sir, Ma'am,

We are terribly sorry that we could not meet up with your expectations, thanks for the review though, as it will surely wake us up and help us in improving on our facilities. We assure you that the minutest of details will be taken in to account & corrections made, ASAP in order to make the resort stay with us more enjoyable to all our guests.

Best Regards
Roby Thampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.