We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming palacette !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eden Garden to your Saves list
Eden Garden
Papanasam Beach, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A charming palacette !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Palacette Rodrigues, it is a beautiful old portugese house, owned by the lovely "Madame" and her mother. All the staff were very welcoming and only to happy to please !
We would like to suggest maybe it could be made clearer the facilities the "Palacette" offers..... like 1 the jacuzzi, the taxi service, laundry etc There was a wonderful swimming pool and pleseant grounds to sit in. Our room had wonderful tall ceilings a huge four poster bed and old colonial furniture !
Thankyou to "madame" and all her staff David and David

Room Tip: we had the portugese room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Blink and you'd miss the entrance to Eden Garden at the end of Beach Road. Once you've walked down the simple dirt track leading from the street, this hidden gem of a place reveals itself. We stayed in the fancy/eccentric rooms/cottages which cost quite a bit more than the more basic rooms in the main block, but the price was worth paying. Set in a well-tended garden, the rooms were ornately designed, but without being overly fussy. The bathroom with plants and gravel floor was a nice touch, but wear flip-flops when going to the loo! The shower was as unpredictable as India's electricity, but always came good in the end. Bed was huge and comfortable, with an absurdly elaborate mosquito net. If you sit on your terrace at night be sure to use mosquito repellent if you're vulnerable to them. We loved the dining area and breakfast was good, but not very big. Service was very friendly and efficient, as well as helpful with organising the next stage of our trip. The location manages to be relatively secluded with enough peace and quiet at night, even though the bustling Beach Street and Papanasam Beach is just a walk down the path. North Cliff is a beach walk and climb up steps or a tuk-tuk ride away. Would definitely recommend this over staying on the more crowded North Cliff.

Room Tip: The luxury cottages are a couple of classes better than the other rooms and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

...if you stay in one of the cheaper rooms in the white house. My room was dark, dirty and extremely basic - there were just a couple of bits of tatty furniture, a net covered in dead mosquitos and a bathroom full of ants, and one uncomfortable old plastic chair on the balcony. Not exactly what I expected from a spa retreat. The massage treatments were good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the rather depressing looking pathway entrance between two stalls, we entered into wonderland. The luxury cottage was quirky and fun : a huge room with lovely decor and a sunken shower and balconies both at the front and at the back ... magic. The service was friendly and helpful, the massage was great and the little eating areas over the water were lovely as was the garden and the location, while being very near to the beach, was wonderfully peaceful. We only booked it because we couldn't find anywhere else that late in the day but it turned out to be a really lovely surprise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Eden Garden has the friendliest and most helpful staff we met on our trip. The rooms and the treatments are perfect especially in comparison to very reasonable rates. They were also most helpful in arrangning all kinds of transport for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Two sec from the sacred beach of Varkala you fan find this amazing garden where the only sounds you hear come from the nature. Vero godo massages too

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed in Eden Garden hotel for 6 nights of which 4 in one of the amazing fairy like 'mushroom' cottages. They are truly wonderful, ours had ocean view from the balcony, but the most beautiful is the interior with colorful wall and ceiling paintings, mosaic bathroom, wooden furniture and everything in round shapes. The service is also very good, with good breakfast and room service if you wish.
The standard cottages are also nice and more affordable if you are traveling on a budget. Spacious, clean, comfortable, with private balcony overlooking an inner garden and little pond. Food is served in the restaurant with tables on platforms above a large pond in another section of the garden. This is a great way to meet other travelers as you often share a table on one of the platforms.
There is another annex to the hotel with rooms in a 'modern/normal' building. These as self catering with little kitchen, but the view is not special and the rooms are clean but nothing special either.
Eden Garden is an ayurvedic centre, and people I met liked their treatments. I only had one relaxation massage which was very good! All together I can recommend eden garden also for its location very near to the beach right in between the quiet and beautiful south kliff beach and with the lively north kliff with its restaurants and shops on 10 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: if you can afford it take one of the 'magic' mush-rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Garden

Address: Papanasam Beach, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eden Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Garden Hotel Varkala
Eden Garden Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.