We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place near Cliff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jicky's Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jicky's Nest to your Saves list
Jicky's Nest
Near Helipad, Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 78 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kumarakom, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place near Cliff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is very near to Cliff ,though not seen from Cliff it is a beautiful budget rooms ,with pleasing hospitality .It is best for budget travelers.The owner lady was so helpful ,we did't use the library but it seems good.

Room Tip: Second floor ,window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
43
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Jicky's for 2 nights in January 2013. We each had a separate little garden bungalow room. They were so pretty, with painted murals, mosquito nets over the beds, plenty of hanging space, chairs, table, and a little terrace overlooking the beautiful clean gardens.

We were only there for a short time, and our tour organiser had booked the trip in advance for us. He has a homestay business in Aleppey, so he would have got a slightly cheaper rate as he puts a lot of business their way. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it isn't as cheap as some places, and there was part of us that wished we had had the time to scout around for a cheaper deal. However, it was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean, and so calm and quiet.

The beds were comfy, and decent pillows too, and hot water in the shower as well!

Breakfast wasn't included in out price, so we ate at the restaurant at the end of the lane. We didn't rate it that highly..there were loads of cawing crows hopping about on the tables, which are a bloody nuisance, not helped by some guests giving them titbits and encouraging them. And the service was very slow, even when they had no other diners. So that rather spoild the breakfast. And the chai I had there was the worst I've had in India, way too peppery, and not at all sweet and spiced as it usually is. No matter, there are hundreds of other places along the cliff which do pretty much anything you could possibly want in the way of food!

The little library was sweet, and the owners were lovely and helpful. There was a power cut one evening, and I was on the way back to my room. I could not see a thing, and ended up tapping about in a neighbour's garden, knocking over flower pots! Then, out of the darkness, a little pinpoint of light, and it was a boy with a mobile phone, who guided me back safely. Handy tip, always take a torch!!

There was a very good ayurvedic massage place, which you pass on the way to the beach..the hot oil head massage was sublime! Highly recommended.

It would be ideal for a special trip with a beloved one, as it is a very romantic, quiet place, away from the bustle of the cliff tops, but only two minutes walk there..

Room Tip: I hadn't seen the other options, so cannot comment on these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I ended up staying at Jickys for 9 nights after I was originally supposed to stay for 5! Just felt so happy and comfortable there. My room was perfect, good size and the balcony was great! They cleaned the rooms ever other day which was amazing. Oscar and mini Oscar were the most lovely and gracious hosts! Very helpful too! The veg restaurant was delicious, suppers were brill but breakfast not amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed a week in bungalow. Large clean rooms with fan &hot water shower. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms cleaned every other day, gardens patrolled each night to see you're ok. Just behind oottupura veggie restaurant (next to Helipad) and couple minutes from beach. Peaceful oasis. Wouldn't hesitate to return thanks again for ensuring a great stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I planned to stay here for 1-2 nights, ended up staying for a week. Rooms are small but comfortable and only 2 minutes walk to cliff-top restaurants and the beach. The owners and staff were helpful and friendly throughout. Rooms were meticulously cleaned every couple of days. I would definitely stay here again.

Also, the veg restaurant at the end of the lane, owned by Jicky's, is definitely worth visiting.

Only one word of advice - a few of the books available to borrow at reception were riddled with bookworm - be careful if you are leaving these around your own books.

Thanks to the everyone at Jicky's for a very enjoyable week in Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Jicky's is where I go to relax from the craziness that can be India. Beds that are comfy with crisp clean cotton sheets; quietness after the noise of the cliff; staff that are always friendly and obliging. Many are the days I have sat with morning tea on the terrace. Nothing is to much trouble for Mini and Oscar. They'll sort out airport pick ups, get the laundry cleaner than anywhere else manages it, look after you if you get sick...the list could go on and on. I haven't managed to get there this winter but next it's my 60th Birthday so me, son and friends will all be staying in this wonderful haven of tranquility. Maybe it is a little dearer than some rooms but it's well worth paying a little extra for the comfort and service.....why would anyone want to go to one of the 'hotels' when there is Jickys!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Turned up for a few nights,stayed for the week.Says it all really.
We had two of the cottages in the grounds has travelling with friends,the rooms where big and very clean,fell in love with them from the start.More to point, the garden did it for me,so peacefull,made it hard to believe the north cliff was just around the corner.
The lady that showed us round and the staff were lovely,very happy,friendly and made you feel like family.A great feeling when your along way from home.
So ,go stay enjoy and relax there,and if you do ,give that lovely lady a big hug from me.
Big love to all at jickys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jicky's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jicky's Nest

Address: Near Helipad, Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jicky's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jicky's Nest Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jicky's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.