We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is truly a hidden Gem in Kerala! Not only the place but the incredible Staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Water Beach Resort
Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is truly a hidden Gem in Kerala! Not only the place but the incredible Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We've been staying at BlueWater the last 3 years, for one month December-January, and every time we have been with different friends, so they can experience such a beautiful place in Kerala and such a great hotel in the corner of the peaceful Odayam beach.
We really would like to emphasize that this place is something really special and that's because the people work there wonderful & give their all ! Even if they work so many hours a day (we see them from breakfast to dinner!! no shifts! ) they will always great you with their best smile & serve you with love! However, we believe the owners could maybe do shifts so not everyone is working at the same time for 16 hours! this is just not human, they should have right to breaks... so they can always work with a happy face and give their very best for a long time... They have a simple, but very good menu, everything is fresh, prices are very good, there are many other places around but Bluewater is really exceptional, and from here we'd like to compliment: Rakesh, Akilesh, Kumar, Vaman, Fransis and All!!! They're so great!!! Thanks for everything and hope to see You next visit Dec. 2011 !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    64
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
102
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed for a week here. The view is nice and it's much cleaner and less crowded than the main Varkala beach. There is also local fishermen nearby who are quite friendly (They may however ask you to help them pull the nets in, which is a good chance for your daily exercise)

The cottage we stayed in was nice but if I had booked in advance I would have requested the front cottage as it has better views. There was no tv and for me this was a welcome change from the other places we had been staying in.

The service was great and the food was tasty. Not that we ate here much as there are so many options further along the beach and up to the cliff. One thing that hadnt been added at the time we were there was an in house laundry service. The manager was honest enough to let me know this and hopefully they will change this in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed for two weeks with young children and loved it. Good to be away from the bustle of Varkala, but an easy 10 minute rickshaw ride in for the restaurants. Position incredible. Right on the beach. The staff were sensational. Dakesh, Aglesh and Francis were very helpful with all requests. Restaurant was good value and all meals were nice without being sensational. The houseboat tour was great (including THE BEST fish curry we had on our whole trip to India). The rooms are well positioned but a little dark and small for a family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed at Bluewater with my friend for a period of one week and we really loved the place very much. It is quite , and away from the busy cliff . We found this place from tripadvisor and feel we are lucky to have been there. We really loved this place since we are looked after well. The ayurveda which we had was one of the best and the people are all kind and helpful . Always let a hand whenever we are in need. My friend was really ill when we were there and the rice soup they gave was great. . I thank them for their hospitality and kindness. We have been traveling through out India and the relaxation we got here was impeccable . The staff are friendly and they are working seriously very hard.. We think that they require more man power and probably they need some rest as well. We highly reccommend this place and hope to come back . Last but not the least the Manager , many thanks to him and wish him good luck

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for just a few nights but wished we had of stayed for longer. Breathtaking - the pictures on the website don't do the place justice. A lovely, small resort with an exclusive feel. The rooms are traditional and very romantic in the evenings. The staff were helpful and ever so polite. Bluewater is definately worth staying at if you are in Varkala!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Imagine an unspoilt tropical South Indian beach. If you've spent any time in India you might find this tricky, but this is the real deal.

A handful of clean, beautiful but simple cottages set in a lawn that sweeps down to a perfect patch of sand. At night you look out over a few small candle-lit tables to the fishing boats twinkling in the sea, and the only noises you hear are waves beating on the shore. I slept like a log.

I was blown away to find this in Varkala, where just south the cliffs are a bustle of cheap hostels and you're back to back with backpackers. In fact, even the surrounding hotels and beach fronts are a bit grubby, but the little stretch of beach here is perfect. It comes with a higher price tag, but it's worth every penny. It's not big, it's not commercial, it's small and perfect.

The masala chai and breakfast are excellent. The dinner menu is a little uninspiring but a short moonlit walk down the beach to the oddly named, yet brilliant, 'Lakeside Cafe' is so lovely you almost thank BlueWater for the limited dinner options.

The staff and very helpful and the manager, Rakesh, has more degrees than a university department. Bear that in mind when you talk to people in India - most of the professionals are better educated than you are.

If you're tired of bland international hotels and grubby hostels this is the perfect place to bliss out for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Highly recommended. Set directly opposite a spectacular beach, Blue Water has a mix of bungalows and large rooms, all with balconys, mosquito nets and some with A/C. Went for one night and stayed for almost two weeks. Staff work incredibly hard in a very unobtrusive way - some of the best I've come across so I hope the management understands their value! Very clean rooms with an immaculate shared garden (hand-clipped!) and far enough away from the clifftop bustle to completely unwind. Swam heaps. Very hard to leave. Worth every cent. Sarah (Australia).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Address: Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.