We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Absolute Kerala Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Water Beach Resort
Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
London
1 review
“Wow - Absolute Kerala Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for just a few nights but wished we had of stayed for longer. Breathtaking - the pictures on the website don't do the place justice. A lovely, small resort with an exclusive feel. The rooms are traditional and very romantic in the evenings. The staff were helpful and ever so polite. Bluewater is definately worth staying at if you are in Varkala!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    56
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
93
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Imagine an unspoilt tropical South Indian beach. If you've spent any time in India you might find this tricky, but this is the real deal.

A handful of clean, beautiful but simple cottages set in a lawn that sweeps down to a perfect patch of sand. At night you look out over a few small candle-lit tables to the fishing boats twinkling in the sea, and the only noises you hear are waves beating on the shore. I slept like a log.

I was blown away to find this in Varkala, where just south the cliffs are a bustle of cheap hostels and you're back to back with backpackers. In fact, even the surrounding hotels and beach fronts are a bit grubby, but the little stretch of beach here is perfect. It comes with a higher price tag, but it's worth every penny. It's not big, it's not commercial, it's small and perfect.

The masala chai and breakfast are excellent. The dinner menu is a little uninspiring but a short moonlit walk down the beach to the oddly named, yet brilliant, 'Lakeside Cafe' is so lovely you almost thank BlueWater for the limited dinner options.

The staff and very helpful and the manager, Rakesh, has more degrees than a university department. Bear that in mind when you talk to people in India - most of the professionals are better educated than you are.

If you're tired of bland international hotels and grubby hostels this is the perfect place to bliss out for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Highly recommended. Set directly opposite a spectacular beach, Blue Water has a mix of bungalows and large rooms, all with balconys, mosquito nets and some with A/C. Went for one night and stayed for almost two weeks. Staff work incredibly hard in a very unobtrusive way - some of the best I've come across so I hope the management understands their value! Very clean rooms with an immaculate shared garden (hand-clipped!) and far enough away from the clifftop bustle to completely unwind. Swam heaps. Very hard to leave. Worth every cent. Sarah (Australia).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed for my last night in the Trivandrum region after a month of a working placement & it was a decision I won't regret. I walked into the room and literally dropped my bag in awe; it was lovely. Clean, well presented and fully facilitated, the bed was large and romantically tempting (wasted on my own really!!!) & in a full 2 trips to India have not come across such a spotless bathroom with toiletries, towels and hot water.
The service was impeccable if not typically a little slow (but this is something you have to adapt to in India as a whole and wouldn't therefore go against them) and there was always someone around to help should I need it. The clientele; a mix of couples and families of different ages encouraged an ambience which was chilled and comfortable.
I stayed at peak season and although prices aren't backpacker friendly they aren't outrageous and for the location, view, impeccable grounds and indulgent night's sleep I got I would happily pay the same again. My only grumble was the lack of Indian options on the menu (especially at breakfast) so I went to eat elsewhere...after questioning this I understand that this is being reviewed.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

In five weeks in India this hotel had the worst service we experienced. The only good thing about this place is the veiw and the fact it is close to a quiet beach. During our four day stay everything was difficult - not one day did we not have to ask for our room to be cleaned (we gave up on the last day) for clean towels or to hunt for a staff member to ask for a menu for breakfast. For nearly $100 a night this level of service is terrible! The bungalow itself is basic - VERY basic and VERY dark. So dark you can't read at night. When we checked in we said we needed to pay by card - all of a sudden the machine was not working. When checking with outher guests who had paid by card it all of a sudden worked again! (Note there was a dirty pair of underpants in our room on the wardrobe from the previous guest - probably still there).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Odayam Beach, Varkala beats Varkala Beach hands down. The location of this Resort is superb. It is secure, clean and comfortable enough and with good service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We had a brilliant stay here. BlueWater is at the far north end of the cliff path, and so is very quiet. The bungalow we had was large and very clean, with a new mosquito net, and had great sea views. The staff wee incredibly friendly, and happily served meals in our room if requested.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Address: Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.