We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Water Beach Resort
Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a few days. Some of the best things about it are undoubtedly the location, the lovely rooms (although a little bare-bones considering where we had been staying earlier) but excellent for the price (around Rs.3500 per night if I remember correctly). The breakfast is excellent and the hotel manager is most helpful.

During booking, we were told that only an AC room was available and we gladly took it up. However, during the three days of our stay, the AC did not work - especially during afternoons when it would get almost blistering hot outside. They even got an LG repairman to come and check it out but It seems there is some form of a Electric Load Balancing issue and Blue Waters was helpless to resolve it. It would get unreasonably hot in the room at times and the little fan they provided us as backup barely kept us from suffocating. Except for this one (rather painful) anomaly, our stay was quite wonderful in Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    56
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
93
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I read "a pearl by the Indian ocean" just wanted to add the extra perfect breakfast. Fruit sallad, fruit juices and a variety of eggs. Not to mention the pancakes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I had a look at the hotel website and tripadvisor photos before booking this place, but even then I was blown away by the magnificent view of this resort! Absolutely on the sea, it offers stunning views of the Arabian sea, with a breathtaking sunset, and you can hear the sea waves all through the night from your cottage. Staff is very friendly, and my 7 year old daughter made friends with them immediately! Food was very good, mostly continental, with a great American breakfast! But I feel this is ideal for honeymoon couple, or if you are going to let yourself loose by absolutely doing nothing but sit by the ocean, pamper yourself with ayurvedic massage. The rooms do not have tv,mini bar or fridge, the lighting was very dim, and you can not read in the evening. For food also, you'll have to order from here all the meals, since there is hardly any place otherwise( there a couple of shacks nearby, but you'll have to venture out of the resort, and walk through the walkway on the cliff, not very comfortable in the evening). Evenings can be a bit boring, the nearest market place is quite far. So, my recommendation is if you want to escape the city life completely, this is the place, and also great for newly weds. Carry a torch,please!

Room Tip: Carry a torch, feel free to walk along the coast, day or night, its really safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have never experienced such a neat and cosy place - with perfect distance to the hustle and bustle on the Varkala North Cliff - quiet and right on the small beach of Odayam. Perfect spot for dolphin-spotting. There are eight or maybe ten rooms all together - perfect for friends, couples or lonely travellers - but not for party animals or conferences. It is a 20 min walk to Varkala and you can also walk north on the interesting coast where you will meet and see fishermen, wooden boats, palm trees, mosques and temples. If you get tired you can take a riksha back.
Blue Water Beach Resort is managed by Mr Rakish and his staff. Rakish can tell you stories from his interesting life, discuss literature or aviation. The chef from Tibet makes something extra out of all the meals - don´t miss the catch of the day and the generous and fresh fruit salad. We also loved the dal with plenty of coriander.
Swimming at the Odayam beach can be a little risky but fun in the breaking waves. Beware of the current at some times that can take you to the side and all of a sudden you might find yourself close to the rocks.
The best yoga in Odayam is at Oasis in the afternoon and at First Place in the morning (same teacher) and you can get wonderful massage at the Ayuvedic place just opposite the Blue Waters gates. Book in advance at high season as the place is small. (I better book my next stay right away as I have put out this review!)

Room Tip: Any room is good. Depending on how many you are, there are different options. Aske before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was a last minute plan. I was very apprehensive when I made the booking, but loved it from the moment I saw it. Right on the Indian ocean, sleeping to the sounds of the blue waters, it was a wonderful and clean place to relax and have a quiet holiday. Very friendly and welcoming staff and Manager on 24 hours duty provided us with everything we needed. I took my elderly parents with me - and the attention and care they got was incredible.

Villas with AC are few. we did get one, but even at noon, we were sitting outside fanned by the constant breeze. Intend to go back regularly - 5 star beauty and 5 star treatment. (The lack of a fridge and tv in the room may be a problem for some, but for us the other amenities/ the incredible beauty, the responsive and ever helpful staff made up for all this.)

Additionally, for the spiritualist or the philosopher, a few kms away is the famous Sivagiri Mutt, which has the samadi of Narayana Guru - (a great yogi and Sidda known for his principle of "one Caste, one God, one Religion ... for Mankind") and which is also the place of the famous meeting (1925) between Narayana Guru and Gandhiji.

Would recommend Varkala and the resort any day!

Room Tip: Only 9 rooms in all. All face the ocean. Sleep quality - if you are bothered by the thunder of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We've been to this resort 3-4 times now because the staff are so helpful and friendly, and because it's in such a good location. It has recently had a refurbishment, which means a better office, and better eating areas.
The rooms are basic: there is no mini-bar or fridge, and no flat-screen tv. Most of the rooms have no A/C, just fans. The food is good, but the menu is not too extensive.
The place is so peaceful, though. All you can hear is the sound of the waves and the birds (provided you take one of the chalet rooms and don't have neighbors who want to play music at night). The food is good. The bathrooms are clean and spacious wet-rooms. The beach is literally across a path from the gate. The beach here is much less crowded than the main beach below the cliff. The walk along the coast is great before breakfast.
It's great to go and help the fishermen bring the nets in before breakfast, and look out for the dolphins.
For the price I think the place is excellent. It is no Taj, but that is not why you would go to this resort.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Pick one of the chalets, rather than the block at the back ... unless you want A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here one night as part of our tour of Kerala. On arrival we were taken straight into our room and just left there! It's not entirely clear where the 'lobby' area is as the hotel is made up of many small huts. Rakesh the manager is a very nice and helpful man but the hotel needs to work on a few things. Firstly this is the only hotel where we were not offered a welcome drink and were not given any complimentary water in our room. The room itself is very basic. Small and no TV. There is neither a mini bar. There was a fan running which was fine during the day, however during the night we wanted to turn on the AC however we couldn't figure out the control, we then realised there is no phone to contact any member of staff with any problems! Restaurant menu is very limited and also very slow in service. Buffet breakfast is not a true buffet and items come in in all sorts of order. The idea of the place is good, wonderful location, views are amazing, staff are always willing to help, just doesn't have that 4* quality which it claims to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Address: Near Parambil Temple | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.