We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made it special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Signature Residence to your Saves list
Signature Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Staff made it special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

This is very good choice in Varkala - a good value for money. It's a quick walk to the cliff and very quiet at night. Our review is four stars only because our room was a bit small, but if you get the rooms in the back rather than the ones facing the road you'll have plenty of room - the back rooms are very spacious.

The place is new, the beds are comfortable, the fan is strong (we got a fan room), and the balcony was spacious and well-appointed with good chairs and a coffee table. The water pressure was excellent! Great showers both hot and cold, with good quality fixtures. This was a godsend in the heat.

The restaurant here has just opened, and the food was top notch. Ask for Kerala specialities not on the menu and they will happily oblige. They made us an aviyal (Kerala coconut vegetable curry) that was incredibly delicious! We had nothing this good out on the cliff restaurants.

What we loved best of all, though, was the staff. Jaison's huge smile, John's speedy service (and adorable grin, watch out ladies!), and the kind general manager, housekeeping staff, and excellent restaurant staff. We were made to feel at home, like special guests. If you're someone who thinks it's the people who make a trip special, then you'll find what you're looking for at the Signature Residence.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — some rooms are small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
28
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I stayed at the Signature residence for 4 nights with my boyfriend. The hotel didn't have much character but was very clean and comfortable, at least in Indian standards. The building was practically new - I think the hotel had been opened only one year earlier. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was good, only a 2-minute walk from the seaside cliff, shops and restaurants, and 10-minute walk from the two main beaches of Varkala. The only "disadvantage" was that the rooms didn't have sea views - but we didn't expect one either. Our room was in the second floor and we had a nice balcony overlooking a peaceful, tidy back yard. The location was very calm and silent, indeed, but not isolated at all. We could recommend this option for everybody looking for a comfortable, safe and peaceful place to stay. The rates were pretty reasonable, too, even in the high season, and compared to local rates in general. Be prepared to pay more than in other parts of Kerala, however.

  • Liked — It was comfortable, clean, safe and peaceful.
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at Signature Residence 20 days during december/january 2008/2009. We liked it very much. It was quiet, good service, big rooms with balcony and very nice staff. It is just a few minutes walk from the cliff near restaurants, shops and beaches. We want to come back and we will really recommend Signature Residence.
Anita and Goran from Sweden

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, big room, nice staff and the room has a balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Signature-Residence opened in 2008 and is a new & nice option in Varkala. The hotel staff is really nice and helpful, including the ayurvedic doctor who kindly helped me with some medicine.

The hotel is only 5 minutes away from the cliff and close to Black Beach (walking distance). The way to beach is not very nice though since you have to walk through waste and litter. But that seems to be typical indian style in "God's own country" ...

The rooms are simple but nice - I think you can not expect anything better at the price of 2500 Rupees. It is very quite there, you can sleep with open doors.

To be true I did not like Varkala since there is too much waste and litter dumped on the cliffs. People there just don't care about the environment, it is a mess! And even more astounding because it is exactly the cliff and the beach that attract tourists - and those Indians keep on spoiling it. Goa has much nicer beaches.

  • Liked — Room, Service, Staff, distance to beach and shops, internet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Well I just don't understand where all other so positive reviews come about Sign. Res. in Varkala - our experience is not so cheerful. This hotel is utterly basic lodging option - very cheap plastic and not comfortable room/interiors with some troubles.

This is rather a beach cabin situated straight on the cliff - 3 min from the beach, the only great asset of this property is their staff.

Other issues are those troubles to which I just referred - first one is due to some wrong construction or design our cottage had an air conditioner which gave no difference, it was running but the room was so hot inside - like in a sauna so we slept quite badly there. And don't even think about opening windows overnight - we did so one night (as outside air is very comfy compared to the conditions indoors) and were bitten by some flying insects that are not repelled by chemical fluid device provided.

Next problem - they sell you accommodation with hot water but in our case the water heater was broken, so we had cold water only.
Plus expect constant power breaks. All this doesn't cost ~$75 per night in Varkala I reckon.

  • Liked — Right by Varkala beach location
  • Disliked — Awful room air/temperature conditions
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreham-by-sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We found this hotel purely through Tripadvisor and contacted Sali by email to book for Xmas. We were travelling through India for 10 weeks and wanted a guaranteed place to stay for 6 nights. Sali was really helpful and asked us to pay in advance by bank transfer which we did.
It took a while for our taxi driver to find the place as not many people seemed to know where it was. When we arrived and saw the building work and apparent location we were not too impressed. However, when we ventured out of the hotel and found that we were a 2 min walk from the cliff (all be it through the back of other guesthouses!) we were more than impressed.
The situation was excellent as there was absolutely no noise from the cliff area at night at all. There is still no restaurant or ayurvedic centre set up yet and although they were working on the building we never heard any noise at all.
The rooms are clean and spacious and have a nice balcony.
We had a few glitches with air-con and hot water but Sali resolved these straight away. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — location and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We paid 1380Rs per night for a std non-a/con room over Xmas and were delighted. On being taken down a back lane by the rickshaw we were a little worried but needn't have been. The location ensures a quiet night but is still only a very short walk to the clifftop shops & restaurants (the Sunrise restaurant was great!). Recently built, the place still sparkles & is beautifully clean although with no frills. Plenty of hot water & a staff only too eager to please & be friendly. On Xmas Eve, they even invited us all to join their cake-cutting party. Our room was in the main building & had a balcony, fan & decent bathroom. Fresh towels or linen were available whenever we wanted them. There are also bungalows which look even better and are cooler as well(Our room would have benefited from a/con at times). As we were leaving, they were getting ready to open their new outside restaurant. Having spoken with the chef over several days, we are sure he will make it a success. Alongside this is a brand new Ayurverdic massage centre & we are told a swimming pool will follow shortly. By the time all this is complete, it will be a truly first class hotel & no doubt more expensive, but 2000Rs would still be cheap.

  • Liked — Staff & atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving before it was complete
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Signature Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Residence

Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Signature Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet and peaceful place with comfortable, clean stylish rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden to relax and enjoy - that is Signature Residence at North Cliff Varkala, Kerala. With a choice of three unique cottages or well appointed hotel rooms, Signature Residence aims to offer you luxurious comfort and security. Only 2 minutes walk from Varkala's stunning Papanasham Cliffs and beach to Signature Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Signature Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signature Residence Varkala, Kerala
Signature Residence Hotel Varkala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.