We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mascot Hotel to your Saves list
Mascot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mascot square, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695033, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“surprised!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is my first time staying in Mascot hotel and I was immensely surprised by the high standards of hospitality the hotel maintains, even though being run by the State Tourism Department, the rooms are excellent, the bar has a very good ambience.Food was good but it was repetitive. But I must repeat food was simply awesome.

I would like to come here again and I also recommend all for this hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: top floor room are quite and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
22
15
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Located in the heart of Trivandrum, the rooms are well furnished. However, Cleanliness is an issue, which needs to be looked into. The food quality is also average. Buffet Menu could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My mother and I stayed in this hotel in December for 3nights. We absolutely loved the huge pool and the quiet spacious room. The hallways were beautifully decorated and the room was clean. There was a musty smell in the room and we later discovered this may have been because the windows in the room do not open. However, we found this to be a running theme with other Indian hotel in rooms with aircon. The hotel housekeeping staff were very polite and friendly, but the front desk staff were useless. They were slow to acknowledge us whenever we approached reception and definitely didn't consider customers to be their number one priority.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool seemed the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I expected a much higher level of service and amenities from this 4 star rated hotel, and I was quite disappointed. The check in process was frustrating as they could not find my reservation and I had to show my reservation confirmation email to get a room. We got wifi access to our room after waiting for two hours and having to remind them twice even though we were told it would be provided in couple of minutes. The TV screen had a plastic taped on it - not sure why. The remote control was useless as you had to stand next to the TV to change volume or channel. All the electric outlets in the room were poorly designed and seemed to work only if you held the device you are trying to charge in a particular position. The bathrooms were not very clean. The laundry service was terrible! The laundry was not picked up for 2 days even though reminder calls were placed every day. Getting a refund from the hotel was a nightmare as you had to send a customer complaint which could have been obtained during checkout. Getting hold of managers to talk to was very frustrating as they put you on hold for several minutes and then the phone gets disconnected. I WILL NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Room Tip: Please do not stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Please don't stay at this hotel; rooms are not clean, bathrooms were dirty, and tried to charge 100 times more for a phone call lasted 10 minutes, and even charged $150 for a night. I recommend to avoid this hotel if you are travelling to Kerala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently with my husband and was very disappointed with the overall experience.

Upon check-in we were allocated the wrong room. We had booked and paid in advance for a Heritage Grand room but were given a room in the main part of the building. However, this was rectified when the reception staff came in person to the room and told us of the mistake. We were then shifted to the Heritage block and the correct room.

These rooms are really lovely; very spacious and with enormous balconies. There are electronic controls for the lights, etc which are extremely annoying and no more than a gimmick. The hotel would do better to ensure that certain parts of the accomodation are cleaned properly. Our balcony was absolutely filthy; I am certain it had never been washed. The same applied to the wooden flooring in the room. The water at 7.15 in the evening was cold so even a warm shower was out of the question.

The catering was very very poor. We had two breakfast there and on both occasions the food was cold. Breakfast is supposed to start at 7 am but on the second morning a lot of items were still not out at 7.30. Not very helpful if you need to leave early to get to the airport . The lunch buffet was average and dishes ranged from tepid to warm. The evening buffets were much the same. Potentially lovely food spoilt by the presentation.

The service in the bar was haphazard. Plenty of staff but little attention given.

All the above was brought to the attention of the duty Manager.

These rooms do not come cheap; Rs 8000 per night. For this price the guest is entitled to a lot more than this hotel is able to give. A terrible shame for such a lovely hotel to be run in the above manner when, with the right management, it could achieve excellence.

I would certainly not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mascot Hotel

Address: Mascot square, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695033, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascot Hotel Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Mascot Hotel Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.