We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality - old warrior; yet brave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pankaj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pankaj to your Saves list
Hotel Pankaj
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P. B. No. 110, Opposite Government secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Jodhpur, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“True hospitality - old warrior; yet brave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

One of the oldest - might be the oldest Hotel in this part of India, because I remember staying here for few days way in the mid 80's. Its hospitality is unique with out much of a show off. The staffs were well mannered and decent. Food was tasty, just a stones thow away from railaway stationa dn bus stand in Thituvananthapuram. You can watch the city unfolding before you form the roof top. Its amazing. It was exciting for me to see this hotel in its splendour eventhough twenty four years have passed. Not many can have tha luxury - atleast in India I suppose. Before I remember it to be of less polluted township. But the city is far less polluted than the rest of Kerala cities and thats the reason why I chose Thiruvananthapuram -with its calm.

Room Tip: I feell any room is good as far it suits you. It depends on your intuition and I really cant say it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
12
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

First time landing at Trivandrum. had to visit Padmanabhaswami temple for my cousin. The hotel is affordable for middle class and upper middle class society in India. Good value for money. Yes. traffic soud can affect you at day time if you are in a room close to MG road. Food is awesome. Buffet and rooftop service is good enough. Serves the purpose if you are not planning a high end luxury

Room Tip: As tole earlier take a room, a bit away from MG road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located on the main city road. It has proximity to the secretariat, pavzangadi temple, Big Bazaar, Shopping centres etc. The rooms are clean, but outdated. AC works fine. Traffic noises are intrusive. Lots of hot water View from the top floor is awesome.
The restaurant is dirty. Food is tasteless. Service is very poor. Complimentary breakfast is a joke. They serve u idlis and cold dosas with sambar.There is no live kitchen.Cornflakes with milk and nothing else.The restaurant rates are very expensive and not really worth.
We ate from Aishwarya, which was very reasonable and had really good food.
My advise: Dont stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Pankaj for 2 nights on a recent personal trip to Trivandrum. It was a comfortable stay. I have listed the pros and cons below.

Pros:
1) Centrally located opposite to Secretariat.
2) Cleanliness maintained in the rooms, corridors and restaurants.
3) Efficient and friendly staff. Helpful with directions.
4) Air conditioning in the room worked well beating the summer heat.
5) Good in-house and rooftop restaurants for ala-carte.
6) Taxi drop to airport arranged without any hassles.

Cons:
1) The room decor and bathrooms are jaded. Some parts need renovation.
2) The complimentary buffet/continental breakfast was not upto the mark. Though there was a good choice of items, most were tasteless.
3) Since the hotel is located on the main road, traffic noise percolates into the room during daytime.
4) There is a duct accompanying the bathroom and if someone smoked in their room, bathroom was full of odour.

Overall, short stays are perfectly fine. For longer stays, choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Time and again, I have to visit Thiruvananthapuram for meeting my friends, for job related matters. . But I dont have to go in search of any hotels for food or for keeping my luggage or comfortable lodging. Oflate, few of the employees in the hotel recognize me!!!(Hope I m good looking) eventhough I come here once in 3 months or more. I might be having emotional bond with this comparatively old hotel. Experience is wonderful Hope my view will be expressed by other customers who have experienced it. Nomatter what me and my family like the Hotel

Room Tip: It depends on your mood of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was a very clean, well maintained, comfortable business hotel in an excellent location in the center of Trivandrum. The staff was very welcoming & helpful; the rooms comfortable & an excellent value. Good breakfast & the rooftop restaurant offers good food in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Pankaj is one of Trivandrum's older hotels. But, it has kept up its standards since I first stayed here in 1988. The best part is that everything in my room works: the central air-conditioning, the hot water, the lights, the fridge. It is centrally located, in easy reach of the theatres where the films for the International Film Festival of Kerala are shown. There is alot of traffic noise, that price you pay for its location.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pankaj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pankaj

Address: P. B. No. 110, Opposite Government secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pankaj 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pankaj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pankaj Hotel Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Hotel Pankaj Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pankaj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.