We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and recharge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village to your Saves list
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Chowara | South of Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Relax and recharge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic beautiful place with just 100 hundreds meters to the waves on the beach. Could not be better. Staff is really helpful and can assist with everything, also bookings on backwater sailing. But first and foremost, say here, if you wanna stay here. There is nothing close by, so prepare to be just here and eat, drink and relax, relax, relax....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
50
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Please don’t consider this place if you want a relaxing holiday resort - as we did after 3 weeks travelling in South India. This is an Ayurverdic clinic which is clawing extra income through advertising itself as being part of the ‘Small Luxury Hotels of the World’ organisation. Visitors from all over Europe come here for treatments for everything from sleeplessness to obesity, and some, no doubt, for very serious ailments. Most ‘patients’ will be dressed in long green gowns and white handkerchiefs on their heads even whilst eating their lunch. Staying here is an utterly joyless experience despite the spectacular location.
When we arrived here on January 3rd with our Expedia booking receipt, the receptionists looked aghast; they had no record of our booking! Rather than receiving conciliatory responses, we were treated to some of the worst behaviour you could imagine. The manager, in particular, was most argumentative towards us and we had the distinct impression that we should be regarded with great suspicion until proven otherwise. The desk staff discussed our situation in front of us in Malayalam/Tamil even though the commonly used language with all guests is English. As a sop we were allocated to the ‘annex’ (a ten minute walk up an extremely steep hill) which was a very far cry from the attractive cottage we were expecting. The manager tried to ‘sell’ this room as being better than the cottage we had booked, as it had A/C! At dinner the same evening, the restaurant staff had obviously been told to treat us with caution; a waiter looked to ask permission as to whether we should be entitled to a free glass of water! In compensation, we were given 3 free buffet meals for 2 which almost exactly matched the difference between our first night’s booking and the annex room – and that’s all. We received an apology, at last, on the second day. We slept in 3 different locations so our final 4 days of luxury in India meant unpacking and packing our bags 3 times!
Eventually, we were given a cottage for the next two nights at Manaltheeram; the air conditioning remote had been ‘confiscated’ as we hadn’t booked A/C. You’d think that management might have seen the wisdom of ‘upgrading’ us to that minimal extent! The last night was spent at the sister hotel, Somatheeram, where we were greeted with the warmth and professionalism distinctly lacking at Manaltheeram.
I don’t think this situation with overbooking is unusual at Manaltheeram. Another family of 5 turned up at the same time as us, only to be told that there was no record of their booking. Fortunately for them, they hadn’t paid up front, as we had, and went off to find another hotel. The Manaltheeram manager implied a number of times that Expedia was to blame but having used Expedia’s services successfully so many times, and having seen the deplorable way he manages his office staff, I have no doubt that the fault lies in Manaltheeram’s ineffectual booking system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

first class service from beginning to end. The hotel taxi met us at Trivandrum airport, when we arrived at the hotel itself we were greeted with jasmine flower garlands, a cold coconut to drink (with umbrella in it!) and a warm flannel to wipe away the dirt from the city. Having travelled from delhi, Agra and Jaipur I was in desperate need of some peace and quiet. I had arrived at the perfect place. the cottages (we stayed in the garden cottages) were round, with clean bathrooms. Even in 33 degree heat we didnt need the AC the ceiling fan was sufficent. Actually, i would not have liked the AC cottages as they were away from the hotel grounds. Breakfast was a vast variety of continental and Indian foods. Lunches and dinners were fine too, lots to choose from even for slightly fussy kids! As it specialises in Ayurvedic medicine with each meal they serve "herbal water". Do try this is was so refreshing and tasted good, slightly aniseedy. Most people were there on health trips, having daily massages, etc. I had a massage on day and it was bliss (30 euros for 1 and a half hours) pedicures for 6 euros and manicures for 4 euros. The restaurant overlooks the 300 mile golden beach. Each night they put on entertainment, i enjoyed the cooking demonstration. The hotel guys on the beach that give out beds and umbrellas were lovley and friendly and i felt totally safe at all times. Do buy some fruit from the ladies on the beach, it tastes wonderful, a pineapple and 2 mangoes was 200 rupees they take it away and bring it back all cut nicely on a silver plate. Delicious. In all, the entire experience was breathtaking and Im saving hard to go back. I would recommend this place for families, couples and singles too.

Room Tip: Garden cottages are wonderful. Dont bother with AC as these cottages are not within the main ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The property is excellent. Their private beach is maintained very well is very clean. Swimming pool is just too good. Small lawn next to the cottage is brilliant idea. The plants smell good. Just take a walk in morning on beach side and you'll be fresh. Best part is you can get tea at beach side or your room and that would be part of breakfast. Breakfast has very good variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Food, ayurveda, and staff are tops on list.
Jewelry shop is a big rip off operation(later found out not part of hotel but rented to private party).
When you go for daily treatment Farouk stands outside, smiling, offering you a cup of chai. Finally I relented as who doesn't like chai? Big mistake. Ordered a pearl ring. Later in my travels talked to another jeweler and the ring was only worth a fraction of what I paid. So the scam works like this - you are the fly, the chai is the honey, and Farouk is the spider.

Also, on a hike to the rocky point north of the beach, in an area few tourists venture, discovered RAW SEWAGE being discharged into the sea from a green tube snaking down the rocks. There were brown slicks out on the water. A few days later while having tea in the morning above the beach saw a slick floating toward the swimming beach. Needless to say stayed out of the water.

Room Tip: Garden cottage are within cluster of cottages and are hot and stuffy with no access to sea breezes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Manager at Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing Manaltheeram
Ayurveda Beach Village & also for your review.
Your review encourages continuing to do better and better to reach the
high standards of services and facilities to exceed expectations of our
guests. It is our pleasure to know from you that “Food, Ayurveda, and
Staff are tops on list”. However, we had noticed that there were certain
points of contention on services which are not offered directly by us. The
mentioned Jewelry shop is rented to a reputed merchant with quality
assurance and guaranteed service/items. If any dispute on your purchase,
money back guarantee is assured by the merchant. Also you mentioned about
the discharged of waste into the sea from a green tube in an area far away
from the resort in a rocky point north of the beach. We had inspected the
same and realize it is not raw sewage being discharged, it is the
permanent green pipe fixed by the government to drain off rain water from
the hilly residential area near the temple which is located far away from
our resort.
We take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New year. We thank you again
for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Manaltheeram
Ayurveda Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa. ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I like this place and recommend it to those who wish to stay in a beautiful place with yoga classes, meditation, very good food and good treatment ( all inclusive, even medicine).
Staying in Manaltheeram I travelled to visit other ayurvedic hotels in order to find an option for myself , probably next year I will come to Manaltheeram again. What makes it so attractive ?The beautiful scenery, shops are nearby, the staff is very caring.
Certainly there are things which should be commented : the beach is not very clean , though Manaltheeram and Somatheeram staff is cleaning it regularly ( in a very funny way - they collect gibberish and bury it in the sand, the waves dig it out ...). The staff members are taken from nearby villages and really some of them are not trained enough or do not understand English.
The ayurveda treatment : it is quite mild, no food restrictions, advice only ... Doctors change
treatment easily if you complain or ask them to and quite generous with ayurvedic medicine.
I believe the treatment is so easy-going because the Westerners are not ready for the real ayurvedic treatment. In fact people should get prepared for Panchakarma before coming , follow the diet while Panchakarma and keep the diet for a while after finishing the treatment.
Who acts like this?
There are strict ayurveda hotels with the diet, no animation, no beach, no swimming-pool. Manaltheeram & Somatheeram are semi -ayurvedic to my mind and it it good for the people
who do not live according to ayurveda at home.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget and view preference. I like all categories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield,WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent four days here. What an experience. We were upgraded to the Kerala House. Great ambience and service. Extremely friendly people who go out of their way to serve you the best. It is a great feeling. Lying on the hammock underneath the coconut trees watching the waves on the beach, what an experience. Candle light dinners overlooking the ocean in the open cannot be described. You have to experience the warmth of their service. We were impressed by the radient smile of Surya from the Customer relationship and the hotel manager, you feel that you are part of the family. We wanted to experience a great Kerala feast and just for the two of us they prepared a great Kerala feast on a banana leaf. Just cannot express how we were treated like royalty at this location. We will definitely go back and stay for longer. We wish other hotel managements come here to experience the service and duplicate it in their resorts. Truly satisfying experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village

Address: Chowara | South of Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village is the sister concern of the Somatheeram with same facilities and services. Manaltheeram with its complex of thatched huts and air-conditioned Kerala houses overlooking the ocean fills your days with the sharing of a village life with Authentic Ayurveda Treatments. Oyster shaped swimming pool seen merging with the blue sea, providing mesmerizing view of the setting sun. The restaurant at the Manaltheeram is the ideal venue of sharing of food in the evenings for all travelers. You get to see an authentic slice of life at Manaltheeram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.