We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saj Lucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saj Lucia to your Saves list
Saj Lucia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Fort, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695023, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Wembley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is located very near to Sree PadmanabhaSwamy temple. It has parking facility inside the compound. Rooms are recently renovated, clean with basic amenities. Bed quality was not that good.
They have a swimming pool which is small but good one. The hotel have two bars , one of them have great offers on all types of beverages. I didn't use the restaurant but heard from friends that the food is not that good. You have plenty of choices within few minutes walk on the main road.

The hotel is reasonably priced , you may get further discount depending on the season. Overall the experience was good.

Room Tip: Bargain directly with the hotel for a discounted rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
9
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Room was good with very nice BED and big TV. Bathroom looked haunted with small holes on top sealing and some noice in night (may be of big rat). Also no feedback asked by hotel. Food is expensive and breakfast is average. Would recommend to eat at restaurant just in front of luciya - food is nice and affordable there.

Room Tip: Eat at restaurant just in front of luciya - food is nice and affordable there :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good experience, courteous and very helpful staff. Food qaulity is poor and very expensive. Stay was very comfortable and nice. Easy access to city, temples and airport. We were there for less than 24 hours, and mostly outside the hotel for work. We were offered a discounted price since we checked in middle of the night, so it was worth our time and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Honestly i dont want to state such a review, but we some of us are regular in Luciya bar on weekends infact would say at least for the past 5yrs atleast. Last week on Monday 17/12, we were only two of us. We didnt go for zodiac,and was served by someone whom we are fmiliar with. We had drinks and once finished, the bill came and for 8large we were charged 2400. We asked the waiter again if thats the amount and he confirmed. But when we came out and checked we are being charged Rs1000 more. The worst thing was it was a person to whom we give atleast 100 to 200 tip after our weekend session. There is a new management but waiters are the same in the bar. Pls be aware, check the bill. This has happend for many and only that day my friend told me he thought its exp in luciya. This has happened many times for us but didnt notice. our fault, but we were taken for a ride

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Worst Hotel I ever stayed. It is just like a Lodge. Only NEGATIVE things to write. Horrible Stay..Small Lift / No Toilet Papers / Used Slippers that too only one pair for a couple/ No Soap / No Drinking Water/ Intermittent ringing of phone Night time & Nobody is responsible. Executive Deluxe room loooks like a second class lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels

Miraj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a nice experience........................... Extra bed provided was very comfortable.Loacation-wise this is the best option.service was a bit slow.............
Overall a nice experience :) !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have read all the reviews on this hotel and I tend to agree with all of them to a large extent.This is both a good and a bad hotel. It all depends on who you contact.

The hotel has a mixed staff both the good and the bad kind.The good ones who go out of their way to help you and the bad kind who just ignore your mere presence let alone your needs. It is not difficult to identify the two kinds keep zeroing on with the good ones and ignore the bad ones and you should be doing well.

The food was reasonably good but should you find it bad - we did not - just get out of the hotel and cross the main road in front of the hotel and you are at the entrance of a restaurant that serves a wide variety of food. If you did not like the food in Saj Lucia you will probably not like the food here too but the different cuisines all under one roof and an AC dining hall can offer alternative options.

Much is said about the Ghazals in this hotel. I must admit the band of musicians consisting of four performers were indeed good. The only surprise was we, a family of three, were the only diners in the dining hall and if we walked out they would be performing to an absolutely empty hall. Let alone other diners even the waiters were absent most part of the dinner time.

The amplifier was set with a high bass and the sound was booming with echos but that was probably because I was sitting in the line of the sound wave. Should you sit through a performance - I think you should - chose a table on the far side of the dining hall for a comfortable listening position. The crooner had a good voice and his Malayalam songs were exceptionally good.

The swimming pool was small. I did not find any other swimmer during the two days we stayed there although there were a number of people in the pool side bar boozing away.

The front desk staff was exceptionally good both during our check in - which unfortunately was late in the night at around 11.30 PM after a delayed flight and checkout - which was early in the morning at 3.30 AM.

Bathrooms were small but clean enough.Toilets do not have hygienic faucets so guests accustomed to this modern device may find this inconvenient.

The room air conditioning and view out of the window too has good and bad sides. The one my wife and I stayed had an air conditioning system where the room temperature could not be lowered and was generally above comfort level whereas the room occupied by my son was too cold and temperature could not be raised. As for the view out side our room , the lesser said the better. The dirty unwashed glass and the cobwebs over the window panes were a rare sight one generally seldom finds in a 4 star hotel .Add to this the defective power sockets,a non functional clock that could not be set to any standard time.

It is obvious the hotel is dependent on the few good men who are struggling to keep it floating against an indifferent management.

I recommend this hotel despite all the negatives because it is centrally located and not very far from the Airport and a stone's throw away from the famous Padmanabha swami temple. I also recommend it specially to people like me who like silence,solitude and an uncrowded place to oneself. You will find all these here

My one and only tip is to ask to speak to Mr. Mathew Thomas when you book your rooms.I have no doubts once you get him on the line he will be on your side and go out of his way to make your stay in Trivandrum memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for Mr. Mathew Thomas when booking your room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saj Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saj Lucia

Address: East Fort, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695023, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saj Lucia 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Saj Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saj Lucia Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Saj Lucia Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saj Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.