We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding atmosphere and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maya

Villa Maya
Old Airport Road, Enjakkal Junction | Pazhavangadi, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695024, India
471 2578901
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, Moroccan, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding atmosphere and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOVED the atmosphere. Possibly one of my favorite restaurants in the world, designwise.

Very tasty food, not only Indian but also International, even Persian!
Incredible price-quality ratio given the atmosphere. 5 EUR for a Sirloin Steak in a place like that - wow. In Europe I'd have to pay 10 times that in a similarly fancy place.

The only small downsides were that service was a little slow and unattentive at times (we went twice) and some food items were both times not available.

If I ever get back to Trivandrum, I'll definitely be back at Villa Maya.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    85
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful new addition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is really great to see a restaurant of this calibre opening in Trivandrum. The property, the grounds are marvelous. The water features create an oasis of calm. The decor is very aesthetic. The menu is ambitious and varied. At the time of my visit they didn't yet have a license for alcohol, but the manager assured me that it was on the way. Nonetheless the restaurant was quite well attended both times I visited. I enjoyed it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Ambience in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I believe "Villa Maya" should be rated the No#1 in town. The ambience here is the best I have seen in Kerala. Have travelled all around Kerala and have visited the best restaurants all around but would rate this No#1. Food is excellant and had got very courteous staff. Highly recommended to anyone who visit Kerala. The only negative I could see is the food is priced a bit high. Have never had Lime Juice in my life for Rs.100 in a restaurant.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic ambience..good food, one of the best in tvm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

5 stars for the ambiance. The old travancore era mansion has been restored superbly. The food was good though I've had better. Service could be improved though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stopped by Villa Maya several times and the food served has not disappointed me so far. The ambience is lovely especially at night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maya also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
 

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.