We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding guesthouse, Outstanding hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Palms Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Palms Guesthouse
Save
You added Wild Palms Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mathrubhumi Road | Vanchiyoor, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695035, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding guesthouse, Outstanding hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for five nights after a busy and exhausting five week trek through India. The rooms are spacious and sqeaky-clean. The pool and beach were a perfect environment to relax and unwind. The staff and owners are very friendly and could not be more helpful. The food in restaurant was freshly cooked and delicious. We would love to stay here again at some time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is only 20mins from airport, so a great place to finish the trip. We had thought it was close to Trivandrum also but was 20kms & 45min taxi journey. The resort is on a fisherman local beach which was great for walks & totally non tourist feel.There is a lovely shady pool - very relaxing & peaceful. Not sure how it would be if busy as quite small.It didn't seem very clean & we didn't swim but other guests did use.The rooms are basic but large & clean with a nice balcony. There is nothing else round here so you need to eat at the restaurant which had good food & great service. (You can also get a beer)The staff are all very friendly & helpful & the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wild Palms is a nice place to stay in Trivandrum. It is very central, being only a 10-minute walk from the main post office on the MG Road (the main north-south road that bisects the city).

The best thing about Wild Palms is the staff: arriving late, about 10.30PM, after restaurants had closed, it was not too much trouble for the night staff to whip up an omelette for us. A nice Keralan breakfast was served each day. On our last day, the staff had no problem allowing us a late check-out.

The LP guide describes The Wild Palms as having a rather “gloomy” aspect and we could see why. Our room, # 4, however, was clean and quiet, but the bathroom was in need of a bit of updating.

The house has a PC with a broadband connection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This guesthouse is located quite close to all the prominent places in Thiruvananthapuram. The Museum, Palace, Temple, Zoo... all are within a 10 minute driving distance.
It is quite a functional place. Nothing fancy about it. We paid Rs 2350 for a double AC room. We shifted from a room on the first floor to one on the ground floor, because my mother couldn't climb the stairs. The room upstairs was a little awkward because the curtains blocked the window AC. So it was a choice between privacy and comfort. The room did not have any view to speak of either. The room below was definitely better, with more space and a split AC. While both rooms were clean, the attached bathrooms could have done with an upgrade. The fittings were all old and leaky.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. We reached at 10PM and they called the nearest restaurant and helped us order dinner. Breakfast was included in the price. The menu is quite limited but what they served was very tasty.

In all we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are better. More spacious with split ACs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I arrived in Thiruvananthapuram in late afternoon after a delayed flight due to heavy rain. I was to take the around midnight train to Cochin and decided to find a place to stay. It seemed that everything was full on that day and I was suggested this place by a tuk tuk driver. The place is rather far from the train station and everything else. The room was clean. The bath room was also clean. The normal rate was 1095 but I asked them for 800 as I'd stay for only 4 hours. They charge extra 2.5% if you use a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A small homestay (guest house), but with spacious rooms, and a comfortable atmosphere.
Internet access is available for a small fee. The food is homely and fresh.
Wild Palms is clean, comfortable and friendly - the staff are warm and welcoming, and happy to help with transport arrangements and advice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Wild Palms Guesthouse in central Trivamdrum three times in the last 2 years and every visit I really enjoy. The rooms are clean, with hot water, lovely owner and staff, and tasty breakfasts. The location is central, 40RS rickshaw ride from the trainstation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Palms Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Palms Guesthouse

Address: Mathrubhumi Road | Vanchiyoor, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695035, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Wild Palms Guesthouse Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Wild Palms Guesthouse Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Palms Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.