We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service and crazy wait time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panchali - Family Restaurant

Panchali - Family Restaurant
Rajadhani Buildings | East Fort, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
0471-2462188
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
1 review
“Horrible service and crazy wait time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We came here at around 2 pm. It is 2:45 and we still waiting for food. If you ask him, when the food will come the server does not even care to respond. If add a soup the server says it will take 30 min to get the order. We are still sitting here because just because we waited 45 min already

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi, Kerala, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Not Recomended...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The food here was the worst i ever had in Thiruvananthapuram... May due to the fact that it had a bar attached people may recommend it... The charge here also seemed exorbitant compared to the quality of the food.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience for family dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

There is nothing special about the food being served here and there is only limited parking space. Still, it's a wonderful place to dine.There is no better family restaurant inside East Fort gate in Trivandrum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kovalam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Panchali is one of the better finds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Based in East fort the panchali offers a good setting for tourists with a wide range of cuisines and an even wider range of desert including many varieties of ice cream from which various ice cream sundies are concocted.

The restaurant has good efficient staff and is air conditioned with a bar license so alcohol is available. I have visited Panchali over several years and make it our lunch spot whenever in Trivandrum.

One draw back I find is the toilet facilities could be better maintained but overall a good dining experience where local Tali meals are served along side other cuisines.

Regards

Ian

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Fairly good variety of food and reasonably priced. Although it was a week day, there were many people having lunch including foreigners even after the normal lunch hours. Good service with friendly staff. Parking is also available in 2 shopping centres opposite the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panchali - Family Restaurant also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Kerala
 

Been to Panchali - Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panchali - Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.