We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C V Raman Pillai Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent city hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

If you are looking for a hotel in Trivandrum, then I don't think you can do much better then than the Taj Residency.
The service was top notch all the time.
I arrived at the hotel at 600am for a reservation for that day. This ment that they did not have to check me in until after 300pm. But it was not a problem at all. Infact instead of making me stand at the desk while they checked men in they showed me to on of the sofas in the lobby and check me in there while serving me coffee and cookies. A great way to start the day and my stay.
The hotel is new and modern. The buffet restaurant was good and prices were reasonable for a 5 star hotel. But as at all Indian hotels even the "international" cuisine is geared to Indian tastes.
The gym is small but it has everything you would need for a work out.
The pool was great and total underused meaning I usually had the pool to myself.and in Trivandrum in April a pool is good to have. Antoher nice feature is that the pool is located in such a way that you can go from your room to the pool without having to go through any busy public areas.
If there were things the hotel could do better at it would be:
sound proofing- tha walls in the rooms seem to be very thin. If you are in your room you can hear everything ( and I mean everything) going on in the room next door.
The pool area could use more greenery. But as the pool is above the lobby there may be issues with weight in adding any new greenery to the pool area.
But these small down sides apart this is an excellent hotel and is now my hotel of choice in Trrivandrum

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    151
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
53
24
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Hotel at the prime location right opposite to the Commissioner of Police Office in the Capital city of Kerala- Trivandrum, has however only one restaurant since its opening a year ago. The restaurant was a good joint in its early days with good food, ambience nad value for money, but now the food seems to be the same old, services tardy and the price too high for an outlet in Trivandrum.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Taj Residency is one of the the best business hotels. State of the art amenities. Highly professional staff. The food is quite good. Definite value for the money

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is a beautiful property that is in Trivandrum. The hotel is new and has some very lovely rooms. I must say that this place is value for money! The restaurants are beautiful and has a lovely bar that is quiet and very ambiant lighting. I was only not sure of its location, becuase one cannot find this property on their own in trivandrum. All in all this is a very comfortabel hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I was on a holiday with family. We booked this hotel for our stay in Trivandrum. the hotel is a nice place to stay due to its good environment, cleanliness, well-behaved staff. I recommend this hotel to the people visiting there.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is great for business travellers. Right in the city. All facilities including food/internet Wifi/business centre are for a business traveller. Functional breakfast. pool is nice. But for leisure travellers there is nothing there. the spa is a must try. the ambience is nothing good-it is just a hotel room. but the massage itself is very good and great value for money at Rs 1000/-

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

in the month of january was there in in Taj Residency for two days. Althouh it is some 12-15 km away from airport but it is located in the heart of the city. Right from the begining every thing was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Address: C V Raman Pillai Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most happening restaurants which open to the lobby to create an enticing food zone offering the best in world cuisine. Technology is woven through it all. Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, has all the entertainment and connectivity options today's traveller requires. Become a part of our world. Feel the pulse of an international business and conferencing destination. Experience the buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.