We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but they need to work on their people skills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C V Raman Pillai Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel but they need to work on their people skills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is an average hotel, we stay in hotels every week for work so we know our hotels. Staff we good but we always had to remind them a few times if we had a request for them to do. They only want you get a hotel car and will not order you a taxi, which I find disgraceful. When are friend ordered a rickshaw to takes us to her school the hotel won't let him enter the gates of the hotel, he had to wait outside and call us to come out. I find this unacceptable and will tell my friends and family never to stay at this hotel, I will also let our companies know never to hold a meeting at this chain again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    167
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
93
58
26
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Taj for 2 nights to visit Kanyakumari. The service levels were superb, as you would expect from a Taj property. But some of the staff really stood out - Princie - the Front Desk Manager - who went out of her way to help my mother after she suffered an injury (not at the hotel), Mani - Restaurant Manager at the Breakfast Restaurant and Veronica who made it a very pleasant Check-In and Check-Out experience for us.

The only problem we had was there was a crying baby in the next room, and I am not sure if the walls are built thin, we were very disturbed, especially at night.

Room Tip: The city side rooms really don't have a good view - it might be better to have a pool side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in December as a wind down after travelling solidly for two weeks. It's in large grounds with 3 restaurants and a few amenities. The main pool was closed when we were there but the second pool was fine for our needs. Everyone very friendly, the staff were genuinely very good.
Gripes few, it's a pity they have to push the spa when you arrive, after a long travel you just want to get to your room and clean up.. Like other reviewers its well overdue that they feel the need to charge for Wi Fi on top. The tv relies on a couple of set top boxes to work, with regular power outages we needed maintenance to come down on two occasions and set up again.
Nearby Lighthouse beach is a bit tacky and there is limited amount in the area but for 3 or 4 nights recommended stop off.
So very good , pluses many minuses few

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Vivanta Taj for three nights. The room was fine; mind you this is not a luxury Taj hotel, it is a business Taj hotel. The bed and bath were fine and the service was very good (though I do wish they wouldn't charge for wifi). There is a good swimming pool for serious swimmers i.e. long, with a wall that you can actually do flip turns on - a rarity for hotel pools. However, the best part was the restaurant. We had some spectacular Indian dishes in the continental restaurant and the new Chinese restaurant was good too. Recommended for the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Taj in Trivandrum for one night after arriving in the city in the evening -- it was easy to get to by prepaid taxi from Trivandrum airport for Rs. 400, and the trip was very short and the taxi driver found it very easily.

The room is your standard four-star fare -- clean, with a nice bed, and a view of the nearby hill -- but it is nothing amazing. Breakfast is nice, and they have a nice masala dosa stand.

PRO:
- Clean rooms with good bathrooms
- Nice breakfast, with fresh dosas
- Friendly staff

CON:
- No free wifi (this is a pet peeve of mine)
- Relatively expensive for Trivandrum (though cheap when compared to nearby Kovalam)

In the end, the reason we chose this hotel was because we weren't sure a taxi driver could find our next resort in Kovalam in the dark after landing at the airport, so it filled a need. We didn't stay long, but it was fine while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is pretty much standard run of the mill "Taj property ".The staff courteous and helpful although the guy at the travel desk is not well informed .The food is decent and the gym well equipped .The rooms are spacious and well designed .Though property is well located and suitable for business travelers

Room Tip: I would suggest room on the first floor near to the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had an horrible experience with taj vivanta i had make a booking for 2 rooms and paid well in advance by cheque in there account with room & both way airport transfers but when my sir got there they were charged with both way airport transfers so i mailed them & they even admitted there mistake and said we will send the refund back as soon as possible but it had been over a month & i am still waiting and now i feel like i was cheated

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Address: C V Raman Pillai Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most happening restaurants which open to the lobby to create an enticing food zone offering the best in world cuisine. Technology is woven through it all. Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, has all the entertainment and connectivity options today's traveller requires. Become a part of our world. Feel the pulse of an international business and conferencing destination. Experience the buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.