We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good sized rooms and balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green View Home Stay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green View Home Stay to your Saves list
Green View Home Stay
Thekkady By Pass Road | Hotel Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 84 Thekkady B&B and Inns
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, good sized rooms and balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights here - comfortable,quiet, friendly hosts. Watch the thousands of fruit bats flying overhead at dusk - extra bonus.

Dining room gloomy which rather lets it down. Breakfast adequate unless you are gluten-free.

Easy walk into town for good and cheap food.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with balcony are spacious and you can watch the bats at dusk and even spot the odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
26
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel because trip-advisor reviews reported monkey viewing from the balcony! We did see monkeys, but they are not around all the time. They do leap onto the balcony itself, even if you are standing on the balcony which is a bit alarming! If you stay here don't leave possessions on the balcony - I nearly lost my copy of Lonely Planet to a monkey - I had to grab it back as he reached for it! We were charged 1600 for our room. Don't order the breakfast as you'll get something better just over the road in the excellent Coffee Inn. On our first evening here the owner invited us onto the roof in the dark (no lighting and no chairs - he brought a mattress up for us all to sit on -) to discuss day trips. As we are two females I was very suspicious of this and couldn't escape quickly enough, however he did arrange for us to visit Elephant Junction the next day,for which he provided a free auto rickshaw. He told us he had booked us into Elephant Junction, but when we arrived there we hadn't been booked in at all because booking ahead wasn't necessary.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms above the ground floor have balconies facing the garden at the back and this is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Helped arrange great day at the Elephant Safari and provided free drop off and pick up. Budget rooms (450r) are very basic and not the most comfortable with no sheet/bedding provided apart from base sheet. Good location not far from bus depot/periyar/shops in a lovely green setting. No hot water in budhet rooms but do have a generator for during powercuts. Free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Green View really isn't a home stay - it's a small hotel and the family lives on the ground floor. It's basic but, we had a nice clean room with a balcony; the location was great; and the friendly owners provided lots of useful help with sightseeing. Breakfast was very simple. We booked in advance and learned from other guests that we paid much more than other people, so consider negotiating the price a bit. Since the price was modest by U.S. standards, I'm still giving the Green View a high rating. (You may want to go out for breakfast though!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights at green view, only place in India where we don't use our own sheets !! we were in a 1000rs room, with a lovely balcony overlooking the garden.
suresh the owner is one of the kindest and good hearted people we met in India, and was very helpful in arranging all our activities while in kumili.
and the shower was amazing !! :)
highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borensberg, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Periyar reserve. The location is good, rooms are good sized. The room was clean, the bathroom not... Service is OK. We had breakfast at the hotel once, which was OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Suresh the owner is very welcoming and helpful. Our room was a good size complete with own balcony, where we sat and watched the monkeys at play - don't leave anything out during the day as they are likely to take them! We took a few tours via Suresh and were very pleased with them, in particular the tea plantation and spice garden and the Periyar National Park. For the price of the room, it represented excellent value for money, as the homestay is very close to all the shops, cafes and restaurants. Taxis and tuk tuks are plentiful. Internet access is only available next to the owner's front door and you are likely to experience several power cuts. That said, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green View Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green View Home Stay

Address: Thekkady By Pass Road | Hotel Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green View Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green View Home Stay Hotel Thekkady
Green View Home Stay Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green View Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.