We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience of stay with GREEN WOODS RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Woods Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Green Woods Resort to your Saves list
Green Woods Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
“My experience of stay with GREEN WOODS RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very neat and clean resort. Surrounding is really GREEN GREEN. Staff of all level is excellent in taking care of guests. Location is also very good - in the center of market.

We enjoyed staying with Green Wood Resort and strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as individual rooms in the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Happy to note your great feedback and very pleased to know you enjoyed the stay with us.When we come to know our guests enjoyed the stay ,its the greatest moment for our team.

Hope you will be coming back to us soon..

With Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    114
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
193
179
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed one night in the main resort and one night in the tree house (Vanya).

Staying in the tree house was a magical experience. You are driven a few kilometres out of town in a jeep, and then walk up the remaining few hundred yards up through a cardamon plantation to the tree house, which is close to the top of a hill bordering on the Periyar tiger reserve. There is one (en-suite) house for sleeping, and a separate platform for meals and looking at the view. Two staff accompany you and prepare and serve dinner and breakfast. They sleep a discreet distance away. We particularly enjoyed spending the early morning having breakfast while watching the sun burn off the clouds in the valley below and a large variety of birds feeding in the trees around the platform.

Service both in the resort itself and on the tree house trip was outstanding - we felt as if we were the most important guests in the hotel.

As a small point for improvement, the hotel should install safes in all of the rooms - we all carry too many cameras, phones and other gadgets now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!


We have noted on your valuable comments and suggestions.Vanya -Tree house is a concept product and we always want our guest to give a journey back to life......So we keep it so virgin and totally blend with nature...When guests like you appreciate our efforts,we really feel happy and gives as the motivation to do more nature based tourism projects which give a completely different feeling to guests...

We hope to meet you on your next visit to India....

Thanks

For Team Greenwoods

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very good hotel with courteous staff and plenty amenities rooms were exceptional and the service was excellent.We had an awesome relaxed time and enjoyed our stay would definitely like to revisit in the future.
Jagjeet Chopra

Room Tip: Would defenitely reccomend the suites facing the swimming pool where we enjoyed our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

It is a matter of great pleasure to read this review and when we find our guests enjoyed the stay ,we consider it as the greatest appreciation ever received.Hope to see you soon,

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Awesome room! Food was exceptional! The staff clearly cares about providing great service! Don't miss the tree house for tea in the afternoon - there are a few snacks that are also offered. We attended the cooking demo and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We are happy to note that your enjoyed our service and specially the live kerala coffee at tree top restaurant.We offer the Cooking demo in the evening and cultural dance at night to all our in house guests...

Next time you come to Thekkady , we hope we can offer many more value added things...Hope to see you soon

Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It has been a great experience .Very good friendly staff .we really enjoyed it .I will defiantly stay in this Resort in our future Thekkady trips.Thanks a lot for all the staff especially to Mr.Jevin Who is so kind and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We are most pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay with us...We are doing many add -ons inside the property to improve the experience and next time you visit us ,we hope we can serve you better..

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First thing to talk abt our 3 day stay at Greenwoods would be the HOSPITALITY...one of the best experiences that we had at kerala..Amazing staff, great cottages and mouth watering food...

Thanks again for making our stay so memorable..We shall see you soon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Noted your feedback with great pleasure and surely these comments are a morale boost for our staff to serve better.Always we try our best to give the maximum value to the money spend by the guest and when we hear ,our guests enjoyed the stay ,we feel happy that our goal is attained.

Hope to see you soon,

With Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great experience at Green Woods amazing feeling two day was so refreshing Its really Excellent Resort, Beautiful , Amazing place to stay to re energize, all the above people are so friendly personalized service over all great hospitality. Sure will recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Green Woods Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for your kind words of appreciation on our services...

We will update on our facebook ( Greenwoods Official) about the activities happening in and around Thekkady..


Thanks
For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Resort

Address: Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Green Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Green Woods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.