We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildernest Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildernest Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast
Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 84 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Madurai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stay at wildernest
Bed and breakfast
Wonderful stay and bread at morning, the taste of American healthy breakfast I experienced.i had it for two days there. And from there I used to follow that menus once in a week at home too.
Best service pleased me, It's a great job for the management to have such a wonderful personnel crew.
The interior is great, every part of the place explains or makes us note the bird symbol, a touch of calmness and greeny along with birds as the hotel name depicts.
Don't miss WILDERNEST

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    60
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and would definitely recommend. A very spacious room with an upstairs balcony - light, airy and very clean. The Reception area was ok for breakfast which was very good - the staff extended breakfast time for us after our early morning trek. Wi-fi was a bit intermittent - it only worked in Reception and they seemed to turn it off after 10pm!
Good location only a few minutes walk from the main town with plenty of restaurants both left and right out of the hotel. Although it is on a main road, it is hardly busy so no problem with traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms were a bit sparse but perfectly OK; the staff were really nice in holding back breakfast until we were back from out walk - but the breakfast itself was pretty basic. The rooms are very quiet -- and have nice terraces - though there is nowhere comfortable to chill out. well located for main streets of Thekaddy. At one point we had a confrontation with i-pad seeking monkeys when we were using the free wifi on the terrace.

Room Tip: we seemed to have a less well ventilated room than others because we were in a corner. Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice airy rooms, clean, with nice breakfasts. We stayed for a couple of nights and it was fine, nice restaurants nearby although you need to press the staff to get more than one recommendation. It's fairly quiet too considering how close it is to the road. Th

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely! Great location, lovely airy rooms but mind the monkeys that play around the courtyard and rooftops! B&B only but there are plenty of great restaurants nearby. Breakfast is continental, service is good. Whole place is clean, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilcompton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location of this smashing guest house on a busy road belies the peace and quiet that lies behind its entrance.

The central grassed courtyard is dominated by a large shady jackfruit tree which was occupied by a number of black langur monkeys when we arrived. Our room was delightfully quirky with rounded walls and a steep wooden staircase (OK going up - more care needed going down, especially after a couple of G & T's!) leading to a secluded balcony overlooking the courtyard.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We spent two separate nights here with a third night under canvass in the nearby Periyar Tiger Reserve (that's another story!). The hotel were more than happy to look after our main baggage for us while we were in the reserve and welcomed us back like long-lost friends when we returned from our adventures.

They only do breakfast in the way of food, but it was very good - proper toast and homemade preserves (and peanut butter). The homemade fruit cake with afternoon tea (locally grown of course) was a delight.

We ate other meals close by - The Bamboo Hut (turn left out of the hotel, about 10 mins down the road on the right, tucked off the road) - excellent tasty food and the best fresh lime sodas in town. Also the Ambadi, again turn left out of the hotel, 5 mins on the left. Old colonial hotel with good food and friendly staff.

It took about 10 mins to get to the centre of this bustling town (turn right out of the hotel). There are shed loads of places selling spices - the best one we found was called 'Spice Park' in the main street. The smell of caradamoms being graded at the back of the shop was amazing.

All in all the Wildernest was the ideal place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The first impression of the Wildernest is its unique modern architecture that blends beautifully into its setting. Built of local stone, the rooms have curved walls and terrace areas set around a central grass courtyard. Our room was large with a spacious bathroom and two terraces. Everything was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only meal served is breakfast, but that is excellent and the timing can be arranged around the day's programme. We went on an early morning game trek stalking elephant and came back for a late and leisurely breakfast. There are good restaurants withing walking distance, so lack of other meals in-house is no issue. Our major tourist things were elephant oriented. Treking, we saw them in the wild. We then rode, scrubbed and were showered by tame ones!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildernest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildernest Bed & Breakfast

Address: Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wildernest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildernest Bed And Breakfast
Wildernest Hotel Idukki
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.