We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Save
You added Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hongkong
1 review
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

I've never written a review for a place before but I had such a fabulous time at this place I was compelled to write something! Mathew is a wonderful host and makes everyone so relaxed you really do feel like you are 'at home'!! So it truly lives up to its name as a homestay. Also the food was amazing, I stayed here for over a week and no one believes me when I said I put weight ON in India!! the opposite to what everyone else expects. I think the earlier review of the woman who got sick must have definately picked it up before she arrived as Benny is the most wonderful cook, even making salads for one guest who had special requirements. We enjoyed watching him cook our evening meal!
Its such a relaxing and friendly environment with plenty of walks and places to explore, from the garden to the village, tea plantations, local ayurvedic hospital and surrounding areas. My favourite was the elephant shower - so funny!!
Also the evening meal, siting around like a family, sharing our days stories and other experiences, a perfect end to the day. I wish all future guests have the same wonderful experiences we did!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

The four of us (two couples) stayed at Mundax for two nights during our trip to Kerala in early January 2009. This is truly an amazing place--we had a fantastic time relaxing here and exploring the nearby Periyar Tiger Reserve. Make sure to phone ahead to have your driver speak with the owner (Mathew) because there is no sign outside the property and the entrance is just a gate off the main road going through the tiny town of Kuttikanam nearby. The property is expansive, with the main house situated amongst a brick-lined pond and lush, terraced gardens, where Mathew grows organic spices and other plants.

The house is only a couple years old, and Mathew designed it himself down to the last door hinge. The style of the house is very minimalistic, while at the same time well-decorated and inviting. It has an authentic and distinctly organic, earthy feel, with the wood for the doors and the dining table coming from Mathew's family property elsewhere in Kerala. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable, with a modern bathroom and sink area ensuite. The guest room on the ground floor had the option of a separate, private entrance, while the guest room upstairs was located right next to a breezy balcony. Both of the rooms had unobstructed views across the garden and to the mountains behind the house. We were pleased with the extra accommodations on the property for our driver to stay in the small house which usually houses the gardener.

Breakfast (Keralan and toast/jam, etc) and dinner (Keralan) were served upstairs at the dining table in the main sitting room. Both Mathew and the on-site chef prepared the delicious and generously portioned meals. In the evenings after dinner, we relaxed in the sitting room and chatted with Mathew about his travels, the local economy, his plans for Mundax, etc. Mathew is a very worldly, kind, and well-educated host who provided excellent conversation and company. He also gave us a yoga lesson (included) on the second morning of our stay.

In terms of activities, we enjoyed a lovely, relaxing ayurvedic massage at a nearby center recommended by Mathew. We spent the only full day of our stay in Periyar, about an hour drive from Mundax. Mathew recommended the elephant safari through the spice plantation, which was absolutely the highlight of our three-week trip to India. Please don't miss out on this fantastic experience, and make sure you partake in the elephant shower (far more pleasant and fun than it sounds). We also took a three-hour hike through Periyar guided by a ranger from the park headquarters. Please be aware of fake guide agents at the gate where you pay the park entry fee, the price is several times what you should be paying (100-200 INR per person), and the guides are not really licensed to be taking you around. Be sure to talk to one of the rangers wearing the green uniforms to get all the information. Also, try to arrive early, as the licensed guides were all taken by the time we arrived in mid-afternoon. Fortunately, a ranger was nice enough to lead us on the "Cloud Walk" hike himself.

Although the location of Mundax requires a winding drive up the mountains to get to Periyar, we found this homestay to be the most tranquil and pristine of our 3-week tour through India. We could not have asked for a better host than Mathew and would absolutely recommend Mundax to anyone looking to unwind in the heart of Kerala.

  • Liked — The host and the quiet!
  • Disliked — A little far from Periyar.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Matthew is an incredibly nice and generous person. The home stay is well maintained, and comfortable.

The food was the main issue. We got sick after the first meal, and not run of the mill traveler's illness, my wife was extremely ill. However, Matthew took great care of us, and got us whatever we needed (antibiotics, glucose powder, rehydration solution, bread and biscuits, rice, et al). The other family was unaffected, so I'm assuming something didn't agree with our western stomachs. And of course, this could have come from other food we ate, but the timing strongly suggests it was what we ate for dinner. And also the food on offer is Keralan cuisine, whatever is being cooked for dinner.. we had eaten the same exact meals on the houseboat the prior two days, and were a bit sick of it. If you are looking for options, or variety, this is not the place.

Location is about an hour to 90 min from Periyar, so keep this in mind when booking if that is your plan. We had a driver, so it's not an issue to go back and forth as there is little night life in the area.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matp, Owner at Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, January 19, 2009
We at Mundax Homestay provide traditional Kerala cuisine minus hot chillies. I had lived in the Western countries for almost twenty years and take great care in providing food which is palatable for Western people. We never had any complaints about our food from any other guests.

As you have stated, your sickness could have come from other food you ate from outside; may be from what you had at the beach before you arrived at the homestay. The other family who had meals with you at the homestay was unaffected.

This incident prompts me to be more vigil in preparing food for my guests. Thank you very much for your honest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed for 12 days and we had a wunderful time at Mundax.
Our fantastic host Mathew really took good care about us.
The food was excellent, thanks Ben.
The generosity was 100%. We really recommend all people that want a specal memory to make a visit to Mathew.

Thanks Mat.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days over Christmas. Booked it late so there wasn't much available - we had to use hostelbookers.com which came up with Mundax. Didn't know much about it, but it was our best option so we went with it.

We thought it would be a little closer to Thekkady, but in actual fact the location is very picturesque and you are only an hour's bus ride (very regular and beautiful drive) from Kumily and the Periyar Reserve.

Mathew was a fantastic host. It really does have a very homely feel and was perfect for a Christmas stay as it was a sociable place. He laid on fireworks for Christmas Eve and gave us all a present on Christmas Day.

The rooms are very spacious and the food is very very good - and plenty of it. Also, if you like your yoga (not for me!), Mathew is a trained instructor.

Highly recommended for a peaceful few days in the hills of Kerala.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, great hospitality and food
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

Mundax is proving a winner especially in my books (literally). Stayed here for 3 weeks in January of this year (2008) back again in December for 2 weeks. The tranquility of this place inspires me no end to write further (my second book) and of course with the host and cook who are so co-operative and kind with the repasts in abundance, a third trip is inevitable.

Thank you Matt once again for being so very caring, thank you for our conversations in peace, no raised voices here, the whispers drip from the walls, the cook Ben who is never without a smile and yes, the chillies were doubly hot this time Ben, but yummy, the 3 lovely lady/gent gardeners who kept a watchful eye on me when I did the walks.

Thrilled yet again to see the beautiful blue kingfishers swooping into the dam, the pretty black/brown "lucky" birds, (one couldn't ask for more luck here), and as usual nature at her best.
Thank you Matt can't wait to get back and perhaps finish the book at Mundax.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights (24th -27th of.Nov.) at Mundax Homestay and we loved every minute of it. Mathew, the owner, made us feel as if we were at home. Our room was spacious, beautiful and very clean. The homestay itself and the scenery around were so picturesque. Every evening Benny - chef du cuisine - prepared a real keralan dinner: at least 5 or 6 different vegetarian and non-vegetarian Indian dishes. Superb! Best of all - Mathew spent so much time on working out different ideas to bring India closer to us. Thank you! We highly recommend Mundax!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

Address: Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundax Homestay Yoga Meditation Retreat is the ideal place to relax, meditate, practice yoga, and listen to the stillness of your inner Self.We invite to combine your holiday with an opportunity to develop and deepen your yoga practice.We have on going Yoga Meditation Retreats. In order to give participants individual attention and provide guidelines according to their background and level, we take only a maximum of four students at a time. Join us for a 3, 5 or 10 days Yoga Meditation Retreat.Yoga can be a deeply transforming experience that helps you to discover your true self and what's important in your life. Yoga is a powerful spiritual practice; not merely an exercise routine.Our programme is specially designed to introduce newcomers to meditation, yoga, and spirituality. Those who already have started their journey with yoga and meditation will widen their experience.There is no age limit; young, middle age, elderly people - all are welcome to join our retreats.We welcome you to be a part of this life enhancing experience through meditation, yoga, spirituality, vegetarian meals, walks in the nature and charming views of the surrounding mountains.We encourage you to open your heart and connect to the very essence of our true nature as the truth, love and compassion. We invite you to reveal the inner stillness and peace that resides deep within your heart and soul.Our Yoga Meditation Retreat is in Kuttikkanam Village close to tea gardens, near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady, Kumily in the Western Ghats of Kerala, South India.Join us for a full week of yoga, meditation, spiritual dialogue, relaxation and soul renewal. Your Hosts and TeachersA Husband and wife team, open their house to offer Yoga and Meditation Retreats.Mathew and Agi – two souls in one spirit. They share a passion for teaching and practicing Yoga, Meditation and Spiritual life. They invite you to experience their hospitality and benefits of Yoga and Meditation in your daily life.The aim of their work is to empower the students to find their true Self; through awareness, yoga and meditation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.