We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Save
You added Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days with Mat and Agi at Mundax end September, early October and it was just wonderful! Mat and Agi are a very special couple, so caring, attentive, just so friendly, perfect hosts! We did our first yoga which we enjoyed, thank you Mat and Agi for being so patient with us. We went to see the tea plantation which was enjoyable. We just loved our massage at the hospital, wonderful experience! It is such a peaceful place, ideal just to relax in the grounds which are just lovely. We can truly recommend this joyous experience. Thank you Mat and Agi for everything. Christine and Michael N.Z.

Room Tip: Mat and Agi only have two rooms, one large double or 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was at Mundax (my Heaven on earth), for the ??? time this year. The mere fact that I come back here for quietude and not attitude, words are perhaps unnecessary, for Mundax needs to be experienced by one. There now is an angel by Mat's side in the form of Agi. The cleanliness, the silence, surrounded by nature at her most charming, the two incredible, agile Yoga Masters ie. Mat and Agi, the delicious repasts, pure vegetarian at every meal, served FRESH. May Mundax give you what your heart and mind need, pure joy! Lorraine

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I visited Mundax with a couple of friends for business. The property is set in a valley right at Kuttikanam junction. Mathew who owns and run this place is a great person. Treats his guest as family and takes very good care of everyone. Perfect place for a holistic recharge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a great place, it's very clean and well looked after, as you will be because Mathew is an excellent host. I really enjoyed my stay there and found the yoga lessons superb. The place is incredibly quiet and is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have come searching for inner peace, and hoped for the healing power of the misty mountains and the quiet homestay far from the crowd. Mundax offered exactly that. I cannot say more than what has already been said about the great view, comfortable room, and warm hospitality. Mathew has been a wonderful teacher and compassionate human being, who quietly watched me through some transformations I'm going through. His very presence practiced what he's teaching, that the peace and joy come from within, from being here and now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent three nights at Mundax Homestay. Mathew is a welcoming host and is excellent company he is really helpful and was very informative. We enjoyed the yoga and also took a trip to the Periyar reserve. The food was excellent and there was a good variety of dishes. Matthew is a gentle yoga teacher - you can do as much or as little as you like. He also teaches meditation but there's no pressure to do anything you are not interested in. The rooms are large clean and have good bathrooms. The house is in a small village close to tea plantations and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent 5 blissful days at Mathews Yoga Homestay - my first time for a homestay and my first time doing yoga twice a day. I enjoyed it all immensely- the pace, the beautiful setting amongst the tea plantations, the FOOD(!), and Mathew- a wonderful host. If you're looking for a place to catch your breath, enjoy twice daily yoga and meditation practice, and basically recharge your batteries (healthy interlude!) - this is it. I also benefitted from Mathews Kerala travel suggestions - always great to get ideas from someone who lives there. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

Address: Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundax Homestay Yoga Meditation Retreat is the ideal place to relax, meditate, practice yoga, and listen to the stillness of your inner Self.We invite to combine your holiday with an opportunity to develop and deepen your yoga practice.We have on going Yoga Meditation Retreats. In order to give participants individual attention and provide guidelines according to their background and level, we take only a maximum of four students at a time. Join us for a 3, 5 or 10 days Yoga Meditation Retreat.Yoga can be a deeply transforming experience that helps you to discover your true self and what's important in your life. Yoga is a powerful spiritual practice; not merely an exercise routine.Our programme is specially designed to introduce newcomers to meditation, yoga, and spirituality. Those who already have started their journey with yoga and meditation will widen their experience.There is no age limit; young, middle age, elderly people - all are welcome to join our retreats.We welcome you to be a part of this life enhancing experience through meditation, yoga, spirituality, vegetarian meals, walks in the nature and charming views of the surrounding mountains.We encourage you to open your heart and connect to the very essence of our true nature as the truth, love and compassion. We invite you to reveal the inner stillness and peace that resides deep within your heart and soul.Our Yoga Meditation Retreat is in Kuttikkanam Village close to tea gardens, near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady, Kumily in the Western Ghats of Kerala, South India.Join us for a full week of yoga, meditation, spiritual dialogue, relaxation and soul renewal. Your Hosts and TeachersA Husband and wife team, open their house to offer Yoga and Meditation Retreats.Mathew and Agi – two souls in one spirit. They share a passion for teaching and practicing Yoga, Meditation and Spiritual life. They invite you to experience their hospitality and benefits of Yoga and Meditation in your daily life.The aim of their work is to empower the students to find their true Self; through awareness, yoga and meditation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.