We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cardamom County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cardamom County to your Saves list
Cardamom County
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685336, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel.
Rooms and the balconies were great
Staff very attentive
Breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent, a la carte even better.
Enjoyed the pool - fantastic way to cool down.
Lovely grounds.
Only quibbles: wine very very expensive even for Kerala and no AirCon
We would have liked to stay longer, but we ran out of things to see in Kumily

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    129
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
136
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Cardomom County as part of a tour through Kerala and Karnataka. As with an earlier reviewer, we stayed in room 208, which was a delightful climb through the gardens to a well appointed room with a balcony and a view over the grounds and some other lodges. We did not experience any of the negative factors experienced by a few reviewers
We received a very warm welcome and during our stay ALL the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We dined both evenings in the main dining room, with a very good buffet. Drinks were cheap and serving staff excellent. The breakfast selection was also very good.The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting the Periyar Tiger Reserve, which we did, having an enjoyable trip on the Lake. Had we had time, we would have taken one of the hiking trails through the park. We also enjoyed an excellent Martial Arts evening. The "warriors" were extremely fit and entertaining. We also took in the spice and tea plantation, so there are lots of things to do and Kumily is a lively town with a good range of shops. We also found a little time to relax and have a dip in the pool.

Room Tip: It would seem Room 208 is a favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satara, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had come to this resort for a conference after a long journey of 6 hrs from Coimbatore. Received a warm welcome & check in was smooth. Room was nice with small balcony in front but not having an option of air conditioner can be bit discomforting in peak summer months. But the room fan was comfortable enough. Had got a room in extreme corner with not much of view but rooms near the poolside seem better. They have a open air restaurant serving buffet meals & breakfast. Although I didn't use it, they do have a massage centre as well. It is not a very big resort but it is nicely maintained & I. had a nice relaxing stay...

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a lovely experience for the holiday spent there.. kid-friendly place, specially since we had a toddler along :)
Food was great.. thanks to chef Sony! Loved the variety of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner.. both a la carte and buffet

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is one of the best resorts in the area with a nice swimming area along with high hilly cottages .. Staff is courteous .. The best thing I liked about the cottages was the natural look coming out of sticky plantation on the outside walls ... Prefer massage somewhere outside ..

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were not guests of this resort but, instead, arrived mid-evening with a couple of fellow-travellers in search of a beer. Went initially to Cinnibar (the upstairs resort lounge) - which was deserted. No guests and no staff. Went across to the main buffet restaurant and finally persuaded the manager to organise a member of staff to serve us. Returned to Cinnibar and our drinks arrived shortly afterwards. A generous tip ensured good service for the remainder of our time there (and also for others who arrived later)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were not expecting much having read some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. We asked for a high room with a view and we liked this as it was away from the restaurant and pool. The room was modern, clean and had a nice patio which was not overlooked as some were. However, there was a very noisy family in a room in front of us which spoiled it a bit.
We did get annoyed at the length of time and number of requests to get the a/c working.
The food in the restaurant was good - although the restaurant itself is not particularly great for eating in. The restaurant staff were very good. We did not have the buffet for dinner but had a very reasonably priced meal. Breakfasts were really good.
It is close to town to walk into - we bought spices which were cheap - but that was about it.

Room Tip: Go for high county cottage with a view - one that has a patio that is not over-looked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardamom County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardamom County

Address: Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685336, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardamom County 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cardamom County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardamom County Hotel Kumily
Muthoot Cardamom County Thekkady
Cardamom County Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardamom County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.