We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmelia Haven to your Saves list
Carmelia Haven
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This resort is located in the middle of cardamom plantation. Vandenmedu has no other hangout spot or any other restaurant out side this resort is literally zero.

But the resort offers some good rooms with a wonderful experience with nature. The whole resort is so silent and the stay so peaceful. You wake up to the sound of birds in the morning. An amazing experience.

Resort : really good, clean, calm, beautiful.

Staff : courteous, helpful.

Rooms : stayed at jacuzzi villa, spacious rooms.

Cost : bit on the expensive side.

I strongly recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    119
    34
    11
    25
See reviews for
105
144
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

its one of the best resort of my trip but some problam in our room we r booked jaccuzy villa bus 2 jaccuzy was not working proper reason of last guest. so the g.m. of resort was help us for enjoying our trip they give us free dinner and body massage in his resort free against jaccuzy. but really weather and beauty is so nice . weather was cool not to much but nice . just say that plzzzz add hot water in jaccuzy. every thing is nice . i am really sorry to say but in kerele no food quality for veg, person i am also giving him 2.5 **** for food .but resort was clean and nice . i wish to go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhowali, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a wonderful plantation resort around one hour from Thekkady town. Reception is good with very decent staffs. We stayed in tree house. Not very spacious room but having all basic amenities and an entire different experience. View from the balcony is good. A midst dense plantation nice tree houses. Other things like wonderful food, great swimming pool and plantation walk like activities made the trip ever memorable. must stay property

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have booked three rooms this hotel through Akshar Travels Ahmedabad. Our Agent Akshar Travels has booked two Tree House rooms & one Jacazi room. We have specially changed our thekkady visit date because of want to live in Tree house room. but when we reached at hotel the hotel manager told us that Both Tree house & One jacazi room booking is cancelled & our hotel voucher of Akshar travels in cancelled. They have booked one delux room, one honeymoon room & one Cave house room. If our voucher is cancelled than how this another room booked that i dont have understood. Akshar travels has told us that even he was not informed in this matter. At that time we do not have other option so that we have accept those rooms. But in my opinion this hotel is not at all customer service oriented. Even they were commited to provide us one hotel golf car to visit there proerty after our next day check out & after our check out they had refuse to provide us car. we have two seniour citizen person so that we had requested them but they dont have provided & said us that hotel has no policy to provide golf car for showing full hotel property. Hotel has only showing amenities like having Tv in the room but no channels showing. only 2 to 3 local malayalam channels are showing. Trip advisor has wrongly awarded this hotel.

Regards,
Neel Mehta / Priyank Mehta
Email : neel77666@gmail.com / priyank954@gmail.com

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Carmelia Haven is located one hour from Kumily/Thekkady in direction Munnar in the middle of a Kardamom plantation. We stayed 4 nights, our Deluxe Cottages were very nice and clean, recently renovated. Since the resort is spread out in the plantation you feel the nature close to you everywhere you go, it is a very pleasant an relaxing environment. Food is good and staaf is helpful.The Peryiar wildlife reserve in Kumily/Thekkaddy (one hour drive from the hotel) proved to be a crowded place where you need persistence and good luck to get a ticket to the boat ride. We can really recommend the Carmelia Haven, we would love to come back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharastra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I went with my family on a winter package (3nights and 4 days)........... I slept like a baby.......ate like a hog......did not stress out (a little bit once :)) and had a great holiday.......
The place is very very well manicured and maintained......everything works fine considering the hardy location..... the people managing the place are very nice.... Vipin is a very helpful person with the front office.....they have a good masseur (Manoj)..... we had some initial glitches with the food but Johnson (restaurant in charge) more than made up for the shortcomings with overwhelming service and attention... he is indeed an asset...... look forward to staying with them once again soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 Nights and 3 days at the resort and the experience was very nice.

The resort is quite peaceful, the staff very courteous and helpful. A place find solace from mechanical life.

The food is good, they also offer a trip to the cardamom factory, a boat ride and a trip to the top of a mountain which was a adventurous experience.

I would definitely recommend this place for a good break.

Room Tip: Better to chose cottages, which really look good when compared to Standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelia Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.