We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spicy Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmelia Haven to your Saves list
Carmelia Haven
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Spicy Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Mist, fragrance and flavor of cardamom will make the stay in this resort a pleasant experience. The rooms and cottages are surrounded by tea and cardamom plantation. Early morning you will be welcomed by chirping of a variety of birds. Employees are very cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    129
    38
    13
    29
See reviews for
115
161
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the warmth of hospitality shown by the staff of Carmelia, doubled with a charming and well maintained farm resort. Great place for staying away from maddening crowd. One can expect a relaxing holiday, great cuisine in a tropical upland farm environment. The property is full of spice plantations, with many tropical fruit trees, from which one can pluck berries and eat!

Room Tip: Go for the newly built independent cottages or pool villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The resort is in a good location and the climate was quite pleasant. The table tennis court was nice, and the pool was also nice!

Rooms were decent esp the jacuzzi cottages... the tree house was quite small but then again that's understandable. The transparent bathrooms were a weird feature though :-)

We had a look at the honeymoon cottage. You have to climb a few steps to get to it (like the treehouse). But once inside, you have to climb DOWN a constricted spiral staircase to get to the bedroom underground! That was somewhat queer.

There is a lot of space at the resort. This is nice to walk around in a calm setting.

The food was excellent, especially ALL the fish items (highly recommended!). However, they make us wait a very long time. Also, they are not patient enough to take our orders in a courteous manner.

Overall, I would rate it Good but not Excellent. Quite overpriced too...

Room Tip: Avoid the tree houses. The jacuzzi cottages are really good. The honeymoon cottage is an individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir

At the outset we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. However we understand that you were not very pleased with the service in the restaurant. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and have ensured that such incidents do not happen in future.

Looking forward to serve you again in Carmelia on your future visits.

Regards

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

we have stayed here for two night in march 2013..excellent resort ..very beatiful..trip to kailashm was indeed great experience..staff is good.but food was horible.service in dining area was very bad ...they almost took 50 to 60 minuts to serve food..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir

At the outset we would like to apologise for the delay in the restaurant during your stay with us. We have made amends to ensure tasty food and prompt service henceforth.Your valuable feedback has motivated us to do better and correct our shortcomings.

Looking forward to serve you again on your future visits to Carmelia Haven.

Regards

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This resort is a long way from periyar tiger reserve.It is about 33Km from Thekkady town. It was an excellent resort. The plantations were awesome.Completely isolated from any sort of civilization.The accommodations are nice, simple and tastefully decorated rooms and nice grounds. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were 3 families with kids to visit this resort. And we found out that the place is indeed VERY calm and quiet. And very beautiful.
But it has no activities to get your kids involved with.
The forest trail was good experience, but that was the only activity that we could find.
The rates were more than a 5* resort, but the food also was very okay.
The Staff are quite cooperative.

To sum it up, definitely not a place to go with kids as they cannot enjoy.
This may be an ideal place for a honeymoon couple, if they prefer complete solitude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from all of us at Carmelia Haven !!

At the outset,I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

In our constant effort to provide the best services to our valuable guests,your feedback regarding activities specifically for children has been taken into consideration and we have already started working on how to do it.

Rest assured,we shall ensure a much more enjoyable stay for you and your family on your next visit to Carmelia Haven.

Always at your service as always

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in month of February, coming from Camp noel at munnar our expectations were very high. But it was a big dissappointment - rooms, food, staff nothing was up to the mark. Except front desk staff, others were not humble, food was pathetic, rooms were not great. I booked jacuzzi villa where water was so cold, that couldnt use it at all.
Most horrible was massage, it caused more damage and pain rather than relief. Do not go for any complimentary packages like winter and other rubbish packages they have which includes - massage, food, some visits. Another drawback of this resort is that its too far from thekkady town, periyar river and tiger reserve. There are many other better and good resorts at thekkady.

Room Tip: Do not go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.Your feedback about the staff has been taken very seriously and we assure you such staff would not be kept in Carmelia anymore.

Regarding the Jacuzzi,heating system shall be installed very soon to ensure comfortable use of jacuzzi for the guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Carmelia

At your service as always


Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelia Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.