We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady to your Saves list
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bromyard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a fabulous location! So peaceful and relaxing when all the day boats have gone and the animals come to the water. We were lucky to see elephants,bison, deer, wild goats and so many lovely colourful birds!
The manager was a great host, calling everyone together when there was something to see.
The staff were helpful, the food was good , as was the accommodation.
With a resident peacock and monkeys in the surrounding trees, it was one of the highlights of our Keralan trip.
Excellent, and don't forget the bins!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel can only be reached by a 20-mins boat trip as it is situated on an island in the middle of a lake, all part of the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Anyone with limited mobility like myself needs to be aware that there are 109 steps up from the jetty to reach the hotel! There are just 6 rooms - it is ground floor accommodation with a small step down from the shaded verandah. Each verandah has easy chairs and coffee tables. The hotel is the former summer palace of the King of Travancore and was also used by the British Viceroys and Governor-General. We were the only ones there, and had the full attention of the staff who were most friendly and helpful - they couldn't do enough for us. A fantastic place to see wildlife in their natural habitat - elephants with their babies, bison, deer, storks, egrets, snake birds - which made it the highlight of our holiday. We didn't see any tigers or leopards but supervised treks are available. The hotel price also includes a free boat trip. The rooms are furnished in old style. We had a walk-in shower and a 4-poster bed - not sure about sharing the bedroom with small geckos, but fortunately they stayed on the ceiling. We were offered a choice of meals, all served with excellent Indian wine. This hotel in the middle of a wildlife reserve is unique and an absolute 'must' for anyone visiting south India.

Room Tip: Room No. 44 offers the best views of the lake and wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The real motivation to stay here is the beautiful location and the opportunity to see the wildlife. Inevitably therefore reviews of the hotel will be influenced by the wildlife you are lucky enough to see during your stay. We saw everything we could have hoped for (we would loved to have seen a tiger but it was never going to happen) - elephants, boar, deer, mongoose, gaur (bison), porcupine, wild dogs, langur monkeys; all from our hotel. We didn't see much wildlife on the walks, boat trips or rafting tours we took but they were all worth doing anyway and were enjoyable. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful; and the food was good too. The rooms were attractive but the bathrooms are certainly basic - but you will only be there for the wildlife so it doesn't matter. We spent 3 nights there and saw animals every evening - take night vision binoculars if you can get hold if them; it significantly extends the time you can watch the wildlife. Ps we were told we didn't need to book trips in advance even though we were there at a busy time - as a result we couldn't do some trips at the time we wanted. I would advise advance booking of trips to ensure early morning wildlife viewing whilst on walks or boat trips.

Room Tip: We booked room 44 which does has a fab view and terrace but there are plenty of good points to view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was in Lake palace end july..with Wife......The place is great ....just the ambience itself.......We wre the only one's in the resort ......The food is made to order........If ur i prime season...u cud see elephants....Wild dogs sitting in ur balacony.....Else its a great place to unwind and chat.....The rates i thik are good consdering the location.....all food which is made to order.....the boat ride and the jungle trek.......Specila thanks to Dinesh the manager and rajan the Chef.........

Sajith and Zelda

Room Tip: Dont go fo the special room unless have lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

To put it straight, the money you pay is for the location. If one is interested in losing one self in the nature, Lake Palace, Thekkady is the place. It is in the middle of a lake and at the foot of the forest. Three sides you have lake and forest behind. Only way to reach the place is by boat and BSNL mobile network is the only network, that too, outside the premises. So, it is an ideal getaway.
We had a peacock in the premises on one of the days, a wild boar visited one evening, Sambar herd and an elephant were spotted on the other side of the lake. That is what you can expect, in the middle of wilderness with nature. Only disturbance is the boats at fixed timings that ferry tourists on a one hour boat ride in the lake.
Lake Palace, Thekkady, though is in middle of nowhere, offers you the best of the aminities. Rooms are well furnished, excellent staff offering support at all times. The chef takes your order for the next meal so it is a personalized service. But keep in mind that the place is in the middle of a lake with only boat as a mode of conveyance, so what is served has some limitations. Just to comment on the hospitality, it was our 4 year old's birthday and the manager arranged for a cake from Kumily. Mr. Dinesh, the manager on duty has also showed some magic tricks. So, he has become "Dinesh uncle" and "magician uncle" to the kid. We returned from the place 4 days ago but he still wants to go back to the place where Dinesh uncle is. The only other place which our kid calls "ours" is Taj Malabar.
Overall, if you are looking for privacy, to be away from the modern communication and want to spend time with nature, this is THE place. The premium you pay is for the location, service and to retain this place as the top destination.

Room Tip: There is no real reason to pay even more for a "lake view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvassa, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 days at KTDC Lake Palace. A perfect palace specially for nature lovers. Excellent Hospitality and cleanliness and surprisingly maintained by government. Perfect value for money. Excellent scenic view and wildlife view. Enjoyed the boating too. Overall worth a visit..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Last summer we went to Lake Palace a ultimate destination at Theakady. The place was a bliss. All nature lovers please do not miss to go to this place. A very well maintained place, this resort is actually the anathapuram of Trivandrum Maharaja. They have just 6 rooms, and this is just in front of the pericardial river. The nature is just in front of you. The staff members were very courteous and an excellent hospitality. The best part is this properly is owned and maintained by the government. Very well maintained by KTDC.? Good place, good food, good ambience. Value for money...do not miss to visit this place....am waiting for the next summer....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Address: Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Lake Palace Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Lake Palace
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.