We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the midst of nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Village to your Saves list
Spice Village
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In the midst of nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a long drive from kumarakom we reached thekkady in the afternoon and were welcomed with a heavenly welcome drink ( the best welcome drink I had ever tasted) and then were shown to our rooms. The entire resort gives you the feeling of staying within a forest reserve including the cottages and gives you a feeling of oneness with nature. There are a lots of birds that keep chirping , swooping , running around which makes it even more beautiful. We were given a few sessions on the spices that are homegrown and a few cookery lessons using those spices. They had organized cultural events for entertaining the guests. They also had a room dedicated for all the flora and fauna resident in the thekkady forest reserve. The food was great and we had a surprise cake sent to our table on the first day as it was our honeymoon trip. The people there were really courteous and made us feel at home throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    177
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
120
253
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent two nights (13th & 14th Oct, 2013) here during our recent trip to Kerala. The ambiance of Spice Village makes it different from most others. The entire resort is build like a tribal village with plenty of birds and trees. We spotted squirrels, horn bills, and many other birds right in front of our hut. The service quality is excellent and so is the food. The only negative thing that I can talk about is that there were many small worms on the floor at night. This, however, not really a concern for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the second venue of our tour of Kerala and it had something to live up to after the first but it did not disappoint. We had upgraded to a garden villa and it was fantastic. It was secluded and so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms in the villa were large and colonial style and the garden area was lush and well looked after. The food in the hotel was delicious and reasonably priced and there was entertainment in the evening. The colonial bar was a real blast from the past decorated with lots of old photos from the time of the Raj. The grounds of the hotel are awash with all the plants and trees which gave the area its economy in times past and the tour is very interesting and explained all the way by your guide. There is also a great cookery demonstration done by one of the chefs making a traditional curry. Would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay ! Wonderful accommodation set in very tranquil wooded grounds that make you feel like you are living in the local game reserve.

The staff are excellent and really made our stay perfect - the food is wonderful with a very good mix of food on the buffet.

Rooms are set in the grounds amongst spice (and other trees) and as many others have said is run on an eco friendly basis. The quality of the rooms is excellent and the large walk in showers and bathrooms are comparable to many 5 star western hotels.

If you want to visit the nearby Periyar Game reserve, then this is an excellent place to stay and the Hotel will help organise your trip into the reserve if you wish.

Room Tip: All rooms are set in huts in the grounds, some are a little further away from the restaurant than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The entire concept of this hotel is to be in sync with the nature. Such as the accommodation itself is in simple yet elegant huts, thatched with elephant grass! The hotel offers you the experiencing the wilderness in all aspects. One can avail boat safaris to spot wildlife near the lake and can visit tribal hamlets at this resort in the Cardamom Hills. The staff is helpful and friendly and you will love the peace in the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful grounds, eco friendly thatched roof cottages and facilities. We booked our first night on Orbitz. We decided to stay for a second night but our rate jumped by 30% to over $200 per night which for a simple basic room seemed high.
As an eco friendly resort, there is no TV or Air Conditioning in the rooms (which can be a problem in hot, humid conditions).
Staff and service are exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night over at spice village, Loved the whole Eco Theme and how everything is focused around the theme from The solar powered hotel to the organic vegetable garden, Even though the property is on the road side ,we felt we were in the wilderness.The only thing that disturbs the tranquility is the steel wheeled housekeeping trolleys(Think the new ones they have are rubber wheeled) The rooms are neat and clean ,
The restaurant food was top notch , The Bar decorated with Old photographs is a real Gem.The occasional visit by monkeys give a nice wild charm to the stay experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#1 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spice Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.