We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, serene resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Village to your Saves list
Spice Village
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding service, serene resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 3 days in March as part of a family vacation to celebrate to our parents anniversary. As must be obvious from the reviews this is a very eco-friendly resort - from the huts, to the resort, the pool, the activities - everything tries to connect you to nature. This IS the place to relax and decompress.
The service from the entire team was simply outstanding. They went above and beyond once we they knew about our parent's anniversary. They decorated the room beautifully. The entire staff signed on a greeting card - that made our parent's day.
The other aspects of service were excellent as well - helping secure the Boat ride and Nature walk in Periyar reserve; cooking classes; ensuring special diet for my toddler son, etc.
Would love to come back again sometime ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    177
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
120
253
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for only one night at the end of March and would have liked to have stayed longer.
The gardens are really relaxing and interesting with the numerous spices growing everywhere and the guinea fowls wandering around.
The comfortable thatched cottage was full of character and we also appreciated the eco friendly features ot the hotel.
The location is excellent with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and we wished that we had had another couple of days to relax and enjoy all the facilities

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent cottage based resort. Impeccable units set in an interesting spice garden . We counted 200 plus ! The cooking class offered in the evening is definitely worth a visit as is the local village of Thekkady. All in all a great place to spend 3 nights.

Room Tip: Away from restaurant is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a suprise when we arrived at the Spice Village. It is so nice to wander through the property and find our room with a lovely verandah to sit and admire the view.
The room was large, beds fine and a thoroughly enjoyable visit. Probably needs a little attention, but nothing to spoil your enjoyment

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What can I say about the lovely Spice Village, a gorgeous hotel in beautiful surroundings. The rooms are spacious, with thatched roofs and comfortable beds.
The is a useful shop and open snack bar with a good choice for lunch, sandwiches, pasta, dosas etc.
The food was good and mostly not too spicy and the staff efficient and friendly.
My partner and I took the tour of the eco friendly grounds, where we were shown the water recycling plant, organic vegetable garden, huge composting areas and also how they used waste to make hand made paper. The gentleman who showed us around was very knowledgeable about the plants and trees in the grounds. There are a few monkeys around,but not many. We were bombarded by one of these cheeky chaps with mangoes when we were doing our tour of the grounds. There were also noisy guinea fowl roaming the grounds, they liked to accompany you on the way back to your room and made cute companions.
The hotel is within walking distance of a small town, or a very cheap tuk tuk ride (50 rupees for four people). There are numerous spice, clothing, souvenir and local shops making for a pleasant afternoon of shopping.
The bar was reminiscent of the colonial era, with a snooker table and many old photographs. A very pleasant place to have a pre or post dinner drink. Wine was expensive at 300 rupees a glass, but not more expensive than any other hotel we stayed at and it was very good.
There is a swimming pool with sunloungers, which we didn't have time to use, but it looked inviting.
We loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spice Village is a lovely place to stay! The rooms are actually spacious bungalows thatched with elephant grass. It is clean, ordered and eco friendly. The staff will give you a warm and friendly welcome. Meals are buffet style and very enjoyable. The lovely grounds have guinea fowl wandering around and there are monkeys which didn't bother us but gave us some entertaining shows early morning and late afternoon. It is located on the edge of a bustling town within easy walking distance or a tuk tuk ride in the opposite direction a slightly busier section. I would highly recommend this accommodation it is impossible to find fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a brief patch of calm and serenity in the middle of a harum scarum trip from Kumarakorum and back in the day to "do elephants" for the children. Everything meticulously prepared in plain view by the chefs from fresh ingredients in a charming tea garden with plenty of shade. All staff carefully indifferent to our rather scruffy appearance. Obvious commitment to Green values. Would be pleased to spend more time here on another trip. Definitely a good lunch option for day visitors.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#1 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spice Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.