We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfuland welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Habarana, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderfuland welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The location is perfect, right next door to the Periya Tiger Reserve, the local wildlife don't recognise the boundary, so you can see a lot from your room, or the garden. A malabar giant squirrel came to feed in the tree outside our room every morning and we had regular sitings of hornbills.
During our 2 week stay, we made friends with the staff, who took delight in introducing us to the food and culture of both Kerula and Tamil Nadu. The buffet meals are superb and the waiters encouraged us to try new things and experiment with both flavours and combinations. As a vegetarian, it was nice not to feel like a member of an oppressed minority (smile) as there were many veggie choices and only 2 for the meat eaters, food heaven for me!
The travel desk arranged many interesting visits for us, which were tailored to our needs (I can't walk far due to an accident some years ago). The trips were efficiently arranged and very reasonably priced.
The rooms have fans, but no AC but this hotel is in a hill station, and we found that the lack of AC really helped us to acclimatise to the Indian temperatures.
The service was truly amazing, and I can honestly say that the staff have become our friends.
We will most definitely return!

Room Tip: We will try the cottages next time, they look fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
79
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sterling Woods N Spice for two weeks, end Feb to start Mar 2012 - which seems to have been some sort of record, as everyone else there were on tours and stayed only one night or two.

Being there for two weeks gave us the chance to make friends with the staff, learn about the place, and observe the terrific amount of work they are doing to improve it. Apparently, the hotel was derelict for nearly a year and was only taken over by Sterling in Sept 2011, and the staff have been working their way through the long list of problems they found when they took it over - which probably explains some of the earlier poor reviews.

We found the whole hotel to be clean and smart, the building and the gardens attractive and interesting, the food (both buffet and a-la-carte) superb, and the staff almost unbelievably friendly, helpful, and efficient - helping me learn the local way(s) to "tie" a lungi, sending out for different local coffees so we could try them and choose the best to take home, taking us shopping to help translate and get us "local" prices on saris and lungis, taking us home to meet family, the list goes on and on !

On the down side, the pool was closed for renovation for the first few days of our stay - but they did great work on it, and it was open (beautifully clean and smart !) very quickly. The hot water went off a couple of times due to the continuous power cuts messing up the boiler - but the power cuts are a current region-wide problem, nothing to do with the hotel, and it was always put back on as soon as anyone noticed. Room service was a bit slow once, when there was a large group checking in and their luggage had to be moved to their rooms - but it was prompt and efficient on all the other occasions, and indeed, it was 5 minutes before we even asked for it once ! We had been out all day, missed lunch, and reception saw us come in tired and dusty and sent a complimentary collection of fruit, chocolate, and cold drinks up to the room while we were still getting changed in case we needed them.

Over all, we had a fantastic time, we have already recommended Woods N Spice to several friends and family, and we are planning to go back as soon as we can - hopefully in Sept to see it in the wet season for a contrast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A good property with a great scope for improvement, as i mentioned in the title it has a great atmosphere, ambiance and location.
Here you would find good food to eat. Also find pantry services round the clock but there is a scope of improvement for room service specially.
The rooms are good with a unique aspect of wooden interiors which is more often seen in cottages rather than rooms.
If the swimming pool would have been working condition it would have added a great memory to my trip.

Room Tip: Go for cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

1) The totally wooden room concept was nice
2) Food was OK to Good

But the services are really poor:

1) No hot water comes, even after requesting multiple times, they finally (after 1 hour) agreed that there is some problem with boiler and said they will send hot water in buckets; that never came. I finally took facewash and then went to reception, I came to know that the person who took all my calls shift ended at 9 AM .....
2) During check out, nobody came to take the luggage after waiting for 10 minutes...I had to take my luggage by myself.

I was feeling headache when I left this hotel....spoiled my holiday mood..

I should have read comments here before travelling.... because I thought hot water problem was sometime one off case....but other people have also complained about the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Being a member of the Sterling group, we stayed at the Sterling property for 2 nights during our trip to Thekkady recently. Although, the reviews presented here were not very encouraging, we still thought of going ahead with our plan. And I would term my stay as quite a nice one, but there are a lot of ways in which they could improve.

Let's loook at the pros once: 1. Not a very big property, but once you enter it, its cute in its own way with cottages and rooms on either side with the swimming pool in the middle. 2. The staff at the recption was excellent and made sure that all our requests were promptly answered. On learning that it was a trip for our first anniversary, they made splendid decoration in ourr room which was very touching. 3. The room with wooden furniture was neatly done and had an old world charm about it. 4. The travel desk was helpful and candidly resolved all our queries on places to visit etc. as per our interests.

Now the cons: 1. The biggest let down was the bathroom. Although the room was nice, the bathroom looked straight from some old "Dharamshala" due to its very basic fittings and decor. The taps had a mind of their own and hot/cold water came as per its own whims and fancies. 2. There was no A/C in the which was ok for us in Februrary, but will definitely be a problem in the hotter months of April/May. 3. Although, a staff was constantly working on the pool, it looked mostly unusable due to the constant leaves and twigs falling on it. 4. I personally found the use of internet very costly, so didnt try it.

Neutral points: Food was ok, though service in restaurant was very slow. In comparison, the room service was much faster.

As i said...In the end, quite a decent stay, but there are also some ares of improvement.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

We went to this resort for lunch and had a look at the property. This is a pretty small place with small rooms. The visit to the restaurant was the biggest mistake. It does not have more than half the items on the menu to serve. The food quality is poor and service is like a slow moving elephant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

One of the worst hotel experience I had. The service is horrible. The staff are least bothered about what the customers want. They were playing volleyball in the swimming pool meant for customers use in the afternoon. There were monkeys everywhere. One even entered my room. The staff don't care to shoo them off. Leaves floating in swimming pool. Restaurant was dark and one had to negotiate a group of 10 monkeys to get to it. No AC. Can't open the windows. Ceiling fan was ineffective. Mosquitoes at night in room. Suite room is small.

Overall the worst Sterling property I have stayed in. Avoid. There are cheaper hotels with much better amenities available in Thekkady. Choose those.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509 , India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.