We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat..lovely family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Restaurant and Bakery

French Restaurant and Bakery
Lake Road, Thekkady, Thekkady 685536, India
#919961213107
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Thekkady
Restaurant details
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place to eat..lovely family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed 2 meals here. It is a family run business and the husband and wife made us feel very welcome. The food was freshly cooked to order and was tasty and good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skelleftea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A most genuin and friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited Thekkady for the third time this winter, and as usual The French restaurant was the place for lunches. We love their homemade musli and the fried rice, and sometimes they have different cakes and pies for afternoon tea.If you come there for dinner you can have a candle light dinner outside the hut, which is very nice. But most of all we like the people of this place, they work hard to make ends meet, and though it is simple it is genuin Indian and also good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful ambience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The place is on the main road leading to the Periyar Reserve. The ambience is downright shoddy. It is a hut next to the owner's house. Man and wife run the place. Pizzas were good. Pastas ok. Homemade base, they said. The atmosphere, with the lady in house clothes, was oppressive and dampening. Not expensive. They do not accept credit cards.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“lovely bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The french bakery is tucked behind some buildings on lake road but you will see their big sign I'm sure,it is not a glamourous restaurant more someones front room with a few tables how ever they do the best bread we had in india! The service is slow but friendly and everything takes a while to prepare but they do great juices ,eggs,homemade bread and fantastic pizzas with homemade bases and tomato sauce.We love indian food but it was good to have a change after a couple of weeks and we were glad to discover this place it's reasonably priced and everything we had was delicious.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 
Thekkady, Kerala
 

Been to French Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Restaurant and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.