We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspired By the Hotel and Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Thekkady

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Thekkady
Save
You added Grand Thekkady to your Saves list
Lake Road ,Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Avinashi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inspired By the Hotel and Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Hotel was very Good and Value for Money.You can plan for 2 days to Thekkady very good place to See.
You can plan for Spice Walk and Boating in Periya lake.If Kids are there you can plan for Elephant ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
76
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
goa india
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was a short weekend stay at GT for a couple of days and we decided to make pre bookings for the trip which included Munnar as well. The online portal of Goingkerala.com helped us complete our bookings at decent rates nd professionalism They offered us multiple choices of hotels in Thekkady and based on our locational constraints we decided to choose the Grand Thekkady Hotel as our abode. Located near the main area of the city the resort provided flexible commute options.We were picked from ernakulam station & this ws our 1st halt But as is the case with one positive there is usually an accompanying negative.

Being located in a prime area the resort suffers from severe space constraints. The room we got on the first floor opened directly to another building located just beside our hotel. Thus don’t expect a grand view from the windows in case you land up here. As we realized later the rooms on the back side of the resort were probably the best as had an open area preceding it. Hence this is something which you could look out for.

However as we stayed outdoors during most of our stint here we did not have a major issue with the room interiors. The Periyar Tiger reserve gate and the Kairali and Kathakali centers are a stone’s throw away from the. Ayurvedic massage spas were also located nearby and they were quite rejuvenating.

One caveat though with the Grand Thekkady Resort is the presence of monkeys in the vicinity of the hotel. They are a real nuisance here and despite the hotel’s best attempts they have remained conspicuous. Cases of bag-lifting were also reported and hence we kept our luggage to a minimum while venturing outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rooms were clean but defective! The lock of the main door was faulty. When I tried to open the tap in the bathroom, it was broken and came into my hand. Maintenance person was not available so the they changed our room. This room was bigger but when i switched on the wall fan, it started making strange loud noise as if it will fall down any moment and then it was not getting switched off. Location was also not good. The snacks that we ordered were tasty but the buffet dinner and breakfast were really bad!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed here for 1 night....hotel is okay....location is also okay...room service is poor....food is okay....beware of monkeys.....staff is friendly....all in all okay stay...not too good not too bad....

Room Tip: go for road facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munnar, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here 01 Night at Thekkady after Munnar. It was also fine, but not as per my expectation. Hotel and staffs were courteous. But the location and boating in Periyar Lake was not satisfied. Pretty Hot, even it is a Hill Station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Really terrible. On arrival they dont even ask for glass of water.hotelier after getting higher rate change ur booking done 4 months ago. Staff dealing poor. No parking. Congested on road.I book the hotel in june but on arrival they shown themselves helpness and I had confirm booking but I arranged other hotel of my own. One staff member was in drunken state.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is close to the main commercial district and the Periyar Tiger Preserve, but not much else is worth recommending. The electricity was out when we arrived. We were shown to a front room on the very loud street to the reserve. They moved us upon request to a quieter room but it was malodorous and the mildew/mold was building up in the bathroom. We lit a mosquito coil (!) to improve the atmosphere. The food on the breakfast buffet was good, but the dining room doesn't have adequate capacity and it was hard to find an unoccupied or clean table, even though we were willing to share. Would stay elsewhere if we returned.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thekkady

Address: Lake Road ,Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Grand Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Grand Thekkady Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Thekkady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.