We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good View and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Thekkady

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Thekkady
Save
You added Grand Thekkady to your Saves list
Lake Road ,Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Munnar, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good View and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here 01 Night at Thekkady after Munnar. It was also fine, but not as per my expectation. Hotel and staffs were courteous. But the location and boating in Periyar Lake was not satisfied. Pretty Hot, even it is a Hill Station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
76
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Really terrible. On arrival they dont even ask for glass of water.hotelier after getting higher rate change ur booking done 4 months ago. Staff dealing poor. No parking. Congested on road.I book the hotel in june but on arrival they shown themselves helpness and I had confirm booking but I arranged other hotel of my own. One staff member was in drunken state.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is close to the main commercial district and the Periyar Tiger Preserve, but not much else is worth recommending. The electricity was out when we arrived. We were shown to a front room on the very loud street to the reserve. They moved us upon request to a quieter room but it was malodorous and the mildew/mold was building up in the bathroom. We lit a mosquito coil (!) to improve the atmosphere. The food on the breakfast buffet was good, but the dining room doesn't have adequate capacity and it was hard to find an unoccupied or clean table, even though we were willing to share. Would stay elsewhere if we returned.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Once we reached Thekkady at about 12 pm, the check-in was real quick. This property is not a big one, but very clean and cozy. They provided us a deluxe room with a front facing balcony, which was really good.

Pros:
1. Room and the entire property was very clean.
2. Staffs are very good with behavior and service.
3. The breakfast was really good and the menu was also very good.
4. Location is pretty good. Very near to main market area. and a 5 -10 min drive to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary entrance.

Cons:
1. Definitely over priced.
2. Restaurant was not operating for the single day that we stayed. The reception staff informed us that one of the cook's relatives had passed away, hence the kitchen was closed. I am just hoping that this was an isolated incident and boarders don't have to often face the same.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with front side balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we spent a day and night at this hotel and it was great experience ,hotel is clean ,well decorated , prompt service .Located near market place . lots of options for shopping and food , many massage centers available near by which do authentic ayurvedic massage (must try) also near to periyar lake
just one problem u can't keep balconies open thanx to monkeys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rourkela
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed there for a night with family.We had a double room with extra bed.Quite a big room.Clean sheets.Clean bathroom and toilet (a MUST HAVE) .Narrow corridor.Dimly lit but cosy looking lobby.Has a shop selling trinkets .Restaurant was not operational during lunch and dinner so we had to go out.But located a great restaurant close by (Michael's Inn) for lunch. Thankfully, the hotel served buffet breakfast which was quite good. Lot of shops nearby though we did not buy anything.It is located at the entrance of the road leading to the Periyar sanctury.Room had a large balcony with chairs but no view as there was another hotel nearby.Lots of monkeys near the hotel so be cautious with clothes and bags.

Room Tip: None of the rooms offer any view cause both sides have hotels and front side has the compound wall o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were offered a free upgrade to THE SUITE as they had run out of Super Deluxe for which i had the reservation. The room was big, airy, comfortable, clean but.... it did not have class.
There is a forest nearby so we had monkeys sitting on our balcony. This was nice in a way as it kept my little one occupied.

During our stay the restraunt was not operational, so we went to nearby Spice hotel which had a very good food.

Room Tip: Value for money, don't look for luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thekkady

Address: Lake Road ,Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Grand Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Grand Thekkady Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Thekkady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.