We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady to your Saves list
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   V & V Estate | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and were greeted by a very friendly and professional staff. They gave us a very personal experience, took us out trekking. I would recommend this to anyone that want's a great experience with excellent food and very nice venue. Very clean and well maintained hotel.
In every hotel experience there is always something to complain about, but not here!
The only thing we can think of that could improve is that the hotel lacks a swimming pool and a fitness centre. It is a quiet area that is suitable for trekking and walking, no nightlife.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s been a pleasure reading your review of Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club as well as your unhesitating recommendation of our property. We have taken note of your feedback about the fitness centre and pool this is an area we are working on and hope to get it up and about soon.

Your feedback inspires us to strive harder to create memorable vacations. We thank you for choosing Niraamaya Retreats, Cardamom Club do look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was such a wonderful experience with Niramaya Resorts, Thekkady and would like to highlight
some points

1. Excellent service from staffs, perfect house keeping, and home made delicious food..
2. Wonderful atmosphere, its really calm and serene. Blended with nature, each and every part of the resort has a unique style and class.

If you want to enjoy your holiday and prefer a calm, quite and nature friendly location...This is the place.. here you could have some adventurous trekking to explore the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the retreat. Thank you for taking the time to capture all aspects of our services and location in your feedback. It gives a great deal of satisfaction to know that all our efforts to keep our services in highest order are paying off.

We look forward to your visit again, thank you for choosing Niraamaya Retreats for your getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best stay during our whole trip to Kerala. Excellent and Personalized Services, very nice people and Property. This Resort undoubtfully exceeded our expectations. Evey one in their resort was very friendly. I sincerely couldnt stop myself and asked how their managers/bosses keep them soo motivated!!!!!

I'll surely visit them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing complements. Your comments truly capture the essence of Niraamaya Retreats, which is the living thread of connection which runs through all our retreats, be it in Niraamaya Retreat Cardamom Club, Thekkady, or Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra at Kovalam or even at Niraamaya Retreats in the Backwaters.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of our best stays in Kerala. I would recommend this resort to any one. Customer service of each and everyone in the resort starting from the security at the main gate to the hotel manager - including the restaurant staff, chef, spa staff exceeded expectation. This was a last minute booking for us and the hotel staff went above and beyond to book us all the safaris with no advance payment and just relying on the word of mouth. The seat booked at the boat safari was really good. A big thank you to Manoj. Rooms were very well decorated and super nice. Bathrooms were brilliantly done, The facilities are picturesque, and really well maintained. Spa services were very good too. If you goto Thekaddy, I would highly recommend this hotel. They have a sister concern in Kovalam which I did not stay, but I would think it will be equally good.
Great job guys and a big thank you for making our trip so much nicer!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for giving Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club an opportunity to host you in spite of the choices you had in Thekkady. We thank you for your review as well as the kind words about the retreat, the team and the spa.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you that by the time you return our services would get even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It has 6 cottages (stayed sep 28th-30th)
Fantastic location,good clean rooms,room service is good, staffs are very friendly (except the one in the restaurant) trekking was good, guide was friendly (Manoj)
There is no option for kids activities ,indoor/outdoor games,no swimming pool/fitness centre
not suitable for family outing.
Restaurant is the one which disappointed us badly. The dishes were like artificially made one.
No taste at all. Those who are willing to take traditional kerala food will be disappointed.
we were forced to eat outside after 1st day lunch & dinner. Not only taste the price at least 3 times costlier .
The one thing I have realised is that the ratings given by various travel agencies is not reliable one.Rating 9.0 is not worth it All we can give is about 6.5

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time to write about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club.

We have noted your comments on children’s activities and are working on increasing kid friendly activities in the coming months.

Our cuisine seeks to use freshly made ingredients and preparations as against packaged supermarket fast food solutions, hence we are disappointed to know that you did not have a great food experience.

We always strive to deliver the best services and your feedback has made us reflect on what went awry. We assure you that we will leave no stone unturned in finding out and correcting this error.

We hope that you give is the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this resort / Boutique Hotel for one night on 25th September, we booked 2 Cottages - Tamarind and Ginger ( these are names of the cottages ). Trust me, the property is too beautiful covered by Periyar Wild Life from all the three sides. The property is very small and have only 6 Cottages, but all the 6 Cottages are so so luxurious and location of the Property is class.

Let me start from the beginning, the welcome was done in such a traditional way, that we were impressed straight away and then cool and fresh Pineapple Welcome Drink with towels and roses were too good. Then we moved to our cottages, we were amazed to see the Cottages, so so beautiful and well maintained. Loved the Property and Hospitality.

Food again is too good and too fresh.

Highly recommended property and must visit property.

For assistance in booking or for any query feel free to call me on 09582884804.

Room Tip: All cottages are same with same view with All modern Luxury Amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reponse. You have summed up the location beautifully. Our property is wrapped in the cool embrace of of a rainforest and burrowed between majestic trees surrounded by valleys and mountains. All our locations offer private experiences set far from madding crowds where our guests can get away from the mechanics of daily life.

We take pride in serving food using fresh ingridients and organic produce. We are happy that the staff lived up to your expectations, as that is part of the 'Niraamaya Experience' delivery we strive to acheive.

We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snape, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was clear to us that this hotel is something special. The location is idyllic, up a hill at the end of a 2.5km long track and in the middle of a spice plantation which is rather like a hill side jungle; it is surrounded by beautiful scenery and spectacular views. The rooms, little cottages really, are lovely, spacious modern and well appointed.The small team running the hotel from the manager down are all excellent by any standard, genuinely warm and friendly.

The food, served in a lovely restaurant with clear views across the valley, is freshly prepared by a very enthusiastic and talented chef. We didn't order off the menu, we just asked for a meal of typical regional dishes - it came beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked, the chef came out to check that we liked it too. One other thing that we really enjoyed was the non alcoholic drinks we were given - delicious...

The staff multi-task moving between housekeeping the rooms to taking guests on guided hikes up into the hills. They are very good at both too. Don't miss doing the hike up through the plantation, it's full of interest as well as being a bit of an adventure and you may even get to see some of the bison and other larger animals that reputedly live there!

In summary - this is a real gem of a hotel, faultlessly run by an enthusiastic, capable and friendly team; superb in every respect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your positive and encouraging review.

Our cuisine seeks to use freshly made ingredients and preparations as against packaged supermarket “fast food” solutions, we are pleased that you enjoyed the regional fare.

Your positive review has motivated us to focus on enhancing the 'Niraamaya Experience' that we try to provide to our guests in our retreats on exceeding guests expectations and providing an authentic cultural indulgence along with relaxation.

Look forward to indulging you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady

Address: V & V Estate | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cardamom Club is a Plantation Resort set amidst in a beautiful Cardamom farm situated in Thekkady, adjacent to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary in Idukki, Kerala, India. It is covered around about 15 acres of lush green area offers a great view from its top end. It also provides many adventurous sports such as trekking rock climbing, fishing and angling. The Cardamom Club Thekkady, offers 7 deluxe double rooms equipped with all modem comforts for the visitors to not only observe the wildlife but enjoy these adventurous experiences and make their tour more exciting and thrilling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.