We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper County Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper County Home Stay
Save
You added Pepper County Home Stay to your Saves list
Amaravathy (Ottakathalamedu), Thekkady, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Bombay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights with my mum... The home is very clean and does match European living standards... its fairly close to all tourist attractions. However, a rented car/taxi is required to get around.

Cyriac uncle and dolly aunty were the best hosts we have ever had in the whole world... Cyriac uncle is a humble man and takes keen interest to provide his guests with every kind of comfort. The fresh wholesome home cooked meals by dolly aunty were an absolute bonus of our trip... Its not only the taste, its the love with which they want you to enjoy yr food matters so much...

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
114
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

A beautiful, well-kept house overlooking the valley at Kumily, pleasant weather, plenty of open space, a spice garden to take a walk in, gentle breeze spreading the aroma of spices from the garden, silence interrupted only by the sound of birds, witnessing the beautiful sunset and gazing at the stars and moon at night in the clear sky - our stay at Pepper County was our perfect idea of a holiday. The couple running the homestay, Dolly and Cyriac, welcomed us into their beautiful home and chatted with ease making us feel comfortable instantly. Homemade Kerala cuisine seasoned with fresh spices from the garden, made meals delectable!Cyriac walked us through his spice garden, explaining the process of growing and harvesting them.He even accompanied us to the places of attraction.
Dolly and Cyriac run the homestay in the true spirit of a homestay. Pepper County is definitely a place we would love to go back to!

  • Liked — the view of the valley and sunset
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Excellent, warm, friendly and welcoming hosts!! Delicious food and breakfast!! Blend of traditional and modern food!! Awesome fish curry with traditional mashed topiaco and hot, soft and spongy apam with mouth watering mutton stew!!
Lovely scenic view around the homestay with spacious garden for kids to play around!! The sweet fragrance of the roses and flowers were relaxing...
Good spacious, clean and tidy rooms!!
We highly recommend this home stay!!
From,
The Philips
Annie, Brian, Bina and Ranjan-Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Pepper County for 2 nights and we were overwhelmed with Cyriac & Dolly's kindness and hospitality. We were treated like members of their own family and they were so kind and helpful during our stay in Kumily. Cyriac recommended us places to go which were better than the ones stated in the tourist guides! Pepper County is only 5 minutes drive from the Periyar Wildlife Park and very close to all the other attractions in Kumily & Periyar. We would highly recommend anyone visiting this area to stay at Periyar as you will have a very relaxing and comfortable experience...and at half the price as the nearby hotels!

We would recommend going to the Elephant ride and spice plantations near Pepper County and Kumily town has some small, well priced shops. Pepper County is also on the border of Kerala and Tamil Nadu, so if you were thinking of going to Madurai (a famous city in Tamil Nadu) then this would only be about 3 hours drive from Kumily.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire,Uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Pepper County and were very impressed. Our accomodation and food were the best of any Homestay and Hotel in our 2 months in India.We were warmly welcomed and wonderfully fed with delicious typical Keralan dishes which were new to us and which will not be found on any hotel/restaurant menu. The location is excellent and we enjoyed sitting on the veranda and watching the sunsets. I only wish we could have stayed longer. I am looking for any excuse to return and hopefully, next time ,learn some of Dolly's recipes.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Pepper County for a couple of nights on a trip around South India.
The house and outlook are beautiful and the hospitality second to none. One of the other guests (on a small tour of the spice plantation) asked what they did with bread fruit and it was served up for dinner that night.
Excellent stay. Could`nt be bettered

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Had a few wonderful days here in the middle of a month touring around Kerala.
Cyriac and Dolly are excellent hosts. Made us feel very special. Had a lovely guided tour around the plantation attached to the homestay. Food wonderful, rooms clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper County Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper County Home Stay

Address: Amaravathy (Ottakathalamedu), Thekkady, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pepper County Home Stay Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper County Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.