We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper County Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper County Home Stay
Save
You added Pepper County Home Stay to your Saves list
Amaravathy (Ottakathalamedu), Thekkady, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Thekkady B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here nealy a year ago Nov 11 but only just got round to the review. Pepper county was one of the cleanest places we stayed in Kerala. The quality of the rooms were excellent with a big double bed and large ensuite shower room. The owners are welcoming and very very respectful although this could feel a little formal at times. Mr Cyriac showed us around his spice plantation which was a real highlight. He also drove us up to a breath taking viewing point where we could see right across Thekkaddy and into.Tamilnadu. We sat eating our meals with another English couple. The home cooked food was excellent and was adapted to cater for western tastes. I did think it a shame that we were separated from eating with the Indian guests as I would have preferred to eat with them and the same food as them to feel more authentic.
This is a greeat place to stay if visiting Thekkady and the wildlife park as the actual town itself isn't that nice.
I would definatley recommend it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is not a B&B it is a homestay, and that says it all and indeed we felt like guests of the entire family.
We arrived late night at this lovely house and our host Syriac drove down to give us directions from the town.
There was hot food waiting for us (we had called early requesting it) and a smiling hostess.
We moved into the clean and spacious rooms with attached bathrooms (warm showers) and then sat down to eat a delicious meal and a wonderful conversation with our host.
My parents-in-law are strict vegetarians and that must have indeed been a sore trial for the "chef" but she didnt demur once!
The daughter of the house was also in residence with her infant and husband and she chatted with us as well.
When we came out of our rooms Syriac was on phone calling a couple from UK who had stayed there 3 years back. They had survived the "boat tragedy" and our host was busy thanking God once again that they were safe. We were touched.
We soon had a brief history of the house and an exchange of info about the families and felt more like distant relatives :).
The next morning we and the other guests had a guided tour of the estate by our host. It was beautiful and my father in law kept exchanging notes on each plant with him. The estate itself is so beautiful that you can easily spend a few hours in it.
The first evening was a reflection of our entire stay there. We got really delicious homely food, good company, peace and quiet, good guidance on what to see and do, a safe clean and beautiful place to stay and most importantly friends for the keeps.

We will surely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although we found the place a little difficult to locate we were glad we booked this place. Surrounded by greenery all around this certainly wasn't a home away from home. It was better. The filled spice plantation was accompanied by an excellent tour by sir and we were delighted with the surroundings. We were a family of 5 and all of us loved the experience. Mr. Cyriac went out of his way to help us by taking us to places himself and placing reservations for us. The food cooked there was homely and delicious. We certainly will miss it for days to come. The fact that sir was so eager to help and make our stay as comfortable as possible warmed our hearts. He even called us after we returned to check if we had reached safely or not. We will certainly be visiting once again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were three girls doing our first Kerala trip together and we planned to spend two days at Thekkady. I am so glad and thankful that we decided to stay at Pepper County. It was a home ad-mist a serene view. Everything about Pepper County, ie. the house, the rooms, the food, the owners made us feel so secured and happy. Its a beautiful family with pure hearts who really know how to take care of guests. It really felt like home. Thank you so much for most awesome and unforgettable experience. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were looking forward to our stay in Pepper County considering the excellent reviews we read about this place on TripAdvisor. The Location, Rooms and View was very good. We were looking forward to home made cooked food for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. But sadly this option was limited to Breakfast only. This was not communicated to us. Though the couple recommended few places, nothing can replace good home cooked food. Also the solar heater were malfunctioning. Though Mr Cyriac did try his best to provide alternate arrangements, our schedule did get impacted. I would however still recommend this place. My advice would be to call up Mr Cyriac and discuss your requirements as there is a difference between a Homestay and Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were a group of 2 family and hospitality given by Mr and Mrs Cyriac was amazing. We had been looked after like their family. We felt like staying at home away from sweet home. We had a good home made breakfast. It was an amazing stay at Thekkaddy even though we had stayed for only one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been to pepper county as a couple a few years ago, and now we went there with our kids and our friends as a group of 9 people. We enjoyed the stay once again, the tidiness and the great food as well as all the information Cyriac provides about his spices and the country and life in India makes the stay a great experience. Everybody was impressed by the hospitality.
We hope we will be able to go back one more time, we thank Cyriac and Dolly ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper County Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper County Home Stay

Address: Amaravathy (Ottakathalamedu), Thekkady, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pepper County Home Stay Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper County Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.